Zoey Shorter's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Zoey’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Greek (modern), Italian, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Living
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am Zoey, which means life in Greek! I have lived in England for my whole life down the same dirt road but I am an explorer at heart.
I am a frequent traveller and love to live out a backpack for months at a time. 2015 was my first big trip alone, over 6 months I went from Mexico to Colombia and every country in between (except El Salvador) by bus and sailing. Last year I went for 3 months to Mexico, Ecuador to work in an animal rescue and rehabilitation centre and then to Jamaica.
Im leaving for Peru in April for a research internship in Puerto Maldonaldo to aid in my education; studying Animal Management and Conservation degree. Then I will travel around Peru and back to Ecuador.
In the future I hope to work in habitat conservation. When I finish education I will find a way to work within that and travel for a few years.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I feel couch surfing is a better way to immerse myself in the culture of a place. I like hostels but I prefer to learn and interact with people of the area as the people play such an important part of the places you visit, something I have come to learn quite recently. I am a social person but I find it more pleasing to get to know a small amount of people at a time rather than big groups.

Interests

  • animals
  • culture
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • tourism
  • beaches
  • travel
  • food
  • jungle
  • sunsets
  • conservation
  • exploring nature
  • all food

Music, Movies, and Books

Roots reggae, Reggae en ingles y espanol, jazz, blues, punk rock, alternative rock, r&b, hip hop. I like a lot of different music but I always find myself putting on the same album on repeat which is Bob Marley & The Wailers - Burnin'
Movies is hard because I have seen so many but some that stand out are Man on Fire, inglorious basterds, Fox and the Hound and more. I like Tim Burton animations as I'm into that creepy gothic theme, also why Iove reading Roahl Dahl and Edgar Allen Poes short stories. I used to work in a library and am a total bookworm.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Most recent amazing thing I've done is hike up Volcano Acetenango in Guatemala. I was ill prepared with a guide which we didn't speak the same language. We hiked 5 hours up through the cloud forest and when we reached the highest point for us the clouds cleared to reveal the fire volcano Pacaya erupting with ash and lava! After five minutes the clouds covered it again, as if it had put on a show just for us .
Another great experience recently was on the red moon eclipse, it had been my friends birthday so we'd been celebrating all day on the beach in Bocas del Toro, Panama then later on we made a bonfire, sat around watching the moon turn red and dissapear. At the time there was bioluminescence in the water, it was spectacular to see it lighting up around my body as I moved in the glow of the moon.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share my home sometimes with hosts, but I live with my family so it has to be when suits them but they're pretty cool. Also, please don't request if you want to stay in London because I do not live in London, I live close but it's actually a £25 daily train ticket! 😊

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Belize, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Panama

Join Couchsurfing to see Zoey’s full profile.