Evy Gaspar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Evy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hungarian, Swedish; learning French
  • 39, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • I try to get away with not working. Sometimes, this works...
  • MA in English Literature; BA in Philosophy & French L...
  • From Stockholm County, Sweden
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To see everything and perhaps even learn a little along the way.

ABOUT ME

Curious, opinionated, eager-to-discuss, older-and-wiser-than-I-might-look female-ish person of some shyness but also of great wit. Love arguing for the sake of arguing, and am always up for any intellectual challenge you might want to throw at me. If you love a good discussion and don't get up too early in the morning, I'm a good bet for hanging out for a few days! :) I also move around a lot, so if you share my passion(s) and restlessness, feel free to suggest places we can go together!

For surfing myself, I am looking for a cozy place with warmth - in both senses of the word (actual and figurative). I love talking about anything and everything, am practically invisible if need be, and can take care of myself in every possible situation. I LOVE food but cannot cook to save my life - however I would be only too happy to provide the ingredients for an amazing home-cooked meal on your part, or treat you to any cool restaurant of your choice!

It might be worth mentioning that I prefer couches with pets as I LOVE them (and pet-owners in general) but have none of my own at present (a fact that i deeply regret). Anyway, here's hoping to see you and your furry lifemates soon in a country, town or venue near yourself or me/us!

PHILOSOPHY

Toughie. ...Never stay in any one place any longer than you have to?

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'm just starting out in the CS circuit, but plan to enter it with a bang and love you long time! I travel A LOT and likewise move around a lot, thinking it would be great to blaze a trail of new acquaintances along the way (ways!).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Medieval burgers in Montréal, home-made xmas brownies in Toronto, RISK and bowling in Seattle, ruckus Depeche Mode gig in Nice. Rock.

Interests

Language/s, philosophy, literature. Mostly, and not nec in that order. Poststructuralist philosophy, as it is called in English (Derrida et. al.) really rocks my socks. <3 I am an eternal student (an actual one, at university), and this is what I Do For A Living (hence, I don't make much of a living at all).

  • pets
  • literature
  • traveling
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Novels: Winterson, Kundera, Murakami, Amis Jr., Pynchon, Foer. Philosophy: Barthes, Derrida, Blanchot, Bataille, Baudrillard, Lyotard, Lacan, Kristeva.Movies: Anything and everything by Coen, Burton, Besson, Almodovar Music: Headstones (CA), MUSE, Placebo, U2 (pre-2000), Ladytron, Oingo Boingo, Depeche Mode, Talking Heads + Eric Serra, Angelo Badalamenti, Danny Elfman <3

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed the Great Wall of China (lots of steps!) + slept in an old servant's apartment in St-Germain-de-Prés for a few nights (again, lots of steps)

Teach, Learn, Share

I am multi-lingual and as such can probably teach you some language learning tricks (or actual languages). I can't cook so would love to learn that (anything beyond boiling and frying is rocket science to me; however I make some mean Swedish pancakes, and bacon and eggs!).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am rather bubbly and chatty and will probably talk your ear off. I can play Devil's Advocate in any situation so if you need a stern talking to, I am your man! (Woman) And don't forget the pancakes - they really are THAT good.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, France, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Evy’s full profile.

My Groups