Logo orange

Ben Strickland

St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 64 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Dad!
  • No education listed
  • From St. John's
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To be the Best Dad ever for my soon to be Daughter Lydia Marley Strickland

ABOUT ME

Lets see. I'm a 30 year old male who has recently been bit by the traveling bug. I had done very little traveling in the past so I left the nest. I left my home in Newfoundland for 13 months ago to venture outside into this big world. I'm home now and trying to fit back into this Irregular World I once knew. It's not until you lived a different life before you realize how weird your old one was. Now that I have completed my trip I hope to backpack each year and step it up a notch each summer till I find what I'm looking for. What am I looking for? I don't know but maybe it will find me.

PHILOSOPHY

The choices you make in your life is what molds the person you are and what you will become, be kind to strangers, complement people, smile, do something positive for others, run for fun every once in a while, laugh, sing and be merry.

Don't let anything hold you down. Someone thinks your foolish and just letting life pass you by... Who cares. Your enjoying it right? Well if you are, keep doing it. Anyone can be successful, but not everyone can be happy.

Just Smile

***Best Quote Ever*** The good thing about hitchhiking is that the assholes drive right on by!

***2nd Best Quote Ever*** â

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I participate on the CS web site by being yet another lover of the traveling world. I offer my couch to travelers, I travel myself, I post opinions good or bad of those I have came into contact with via CS, thus making this a bigger and better community because if we all never did those things there would be no CS. Once I get enough experience I will also be applying to be an embasador.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have made alot of great friends as a result of hosting and the monthly meet-ups and I can't wait to make more friends during my trip.

*Surfed* 08/2009 David & Leigh: Indiana, IN 6: Days 08/2009 Squish: Columbus, OH: 2 Days 08/2009 David & Erica: Wasilla, AK: 6 Days 08/2009 Brandy: Anchorage, AK: 3 Days 08/2009 Eric: Whitehorse, YT: 5 Days 08/2009 Tegan: Whitehorse, YT: 2 Days 09/2009 James & Julie: Tofino, BC 4 Days 10/2009 Jen: Vancouver, BC: 5 Days 10/2009 Sara & Graham: Revelstoke, BC: 5 Days 11/2009 Erik: Calgary, AB: 6 Days 12/2009 Libby: Edmonton, AB: 3 Days 12/2009 Melanie: Winnipeg, MB: 6 Days 12/2009 Zack: Thunder Bay, ON: 1 Day 01/2010 Alec: Toronto, ON: 3 Days 05/2010 Victoria: Montreal, QC: 4 Days 05/2010 Maxim: Montreal, QC: 2 Days 05/2010 Marie-Pierre: Montreal, QC: 10 Days 06/2010 Christan: Quebec City, QC: 4 Days 06/2010 Wiebke: Moncton, NB: 5 Days 06/2010 Winona: Halifax, NS: 4 Days 06/2010 Ron: Halifax, NS: 3 Days 06/2010 Tina Charlottetown, PEI: 3 Days 07/2010 Shannon & Ryan: Portland, ME: 6 Days 07/2010 Danny: Boston, MA: 2 Days 07/2010 Marissa: Boston, MA: 5 Days 07/2010 Mike & Amy: Providence, RI: 3 Days 07/2010 Chris: Providence, RI: 4 Days 07/2010 Hans: New Haven, CT: 5 Days 07/2010 Ben: Pittsburgh, PA: 3 Days 07/2010 Squish: Columbus, OH: 10 Days 08/2010 Eric: Indianapolis, IN: 5 Days

*Hosted* 04/2009 Martin & Daniel: Germany 05/2009 Rob: Ohio (Traveled with Laura) 05/2009 Laura: England 05/2009 Jen: British Columbia 05/2009 Libby: Alberta 05/2009 Glen: Ontario 05/2009 Marie-Pierre: Montreal 06/2009 Yusef: Ontario 06/2009 Beeatee: Germany 06/2009 Christine & Melyssa: Quebec 06/2009 Fred: France 07/2009 Walter: Manitoba 07/2009 Hanna & Alex: Montreal & Quebec 06/2011 Dominique: Quebec

*Meet-ups* 01/2009 - House Party: Mayo Vrba 02/2009 - Bowling & a Resturant: myself 03/2009 - Hawaiian Luau Party: Jenna Barnable 04/2009 - House Party: Mayo Vrba 05/2009 - Pot Luck: Myself 06/2009 - Int.CS Day party: Adrian House 07/2009 - CS Bonfire hosted: Jenna Barnable 08/2009 - Local meet-up Indianapolis, IN: Leanne Burton 11/2009 - Local meet-up Calgary, AB 05/2010 - Local meet-up Ottawa, ON 06/2010 - Local meet-up Quebec City, QC (3 seperate meet-ups)

Interests

ROCKCLIMBING, Cooking, Morton's List, Music, Computers, Travel, Live performances of many kinds, Coffee, Mysterious nooks and crannies, Adventure, Tattoos, Piercings, Body Mods, Fat Ninjas, Juggalos(Lettes), Dancing while I cook (But nobody sees that), Art, Reading, Exploring the Unknown, etc.

Music, Movies & Books

~Music in no order~ ICP, Offspring, Twiztid, Ramones, Blaze Ya Dead Homie, Rancid, Boondox, Green Day, Dark Lotus, Blink 182, DJ Clay, Elvis, Zug Izland, Stray Cats, Soopa Villainz, Gob, Tech N9ne, Tom Waits, Kris Callico, No Use For A Name, Playas Lounge Crew, Horrorpops, Big B, Pennywise, Psychopathic Rydas, NOFX, Menace II Sobriety, Bob Marley, Axe Murder Boys, NIN, Q Strange, Powerglove, Daddy X, Mushroomhead, Johnny Hardcore, System Of The Down, Esham, Bloodhound Gang, Blumentopf and Much Much More.

TV:I have no cable and rarely watch when I have the chance. I do DL some television seasons though i.e. Heroes, I own Season one but cannot find season 2 in stores.

Movies: Horrors n Zombies ya just can't go wrong. I love anything by George Romero or the Troma team. I also like comedies too.

Books: I like Stephen King's and Max Brooks work and of course Morton's List.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I meet almost everyone of my favorite musicians over the last 3 years. Plus alot of other people who inspire me in my life. I have been straight edge as well for over 3 years. I really wanted to go skydivign but I was 30lbs over the maximum weight. So I lost 50lbs instead :D Then I skydove a elivation of 10,000 feet.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a huge passion for Rocckclimbing and would gladly take you out for a climb, I also love to cook and have been told I should do it as a profession, I just like doing it as my personal passion and would enjoy cooking with others.

If anyone could teach me another language that would be realy cool, though I don't learn fast.

One other thing I do that can be filed under this section is my Music Project. Every time I meet someone from the site be it traveling or hosting, I copy their music on to my hard drive. My goal is to get a terabyte of music from all around the world. Right now I have over 87,000 songs and my hard drive is only 1/4 full. I would be more than happy to share it with you giving you the chance to learn about new and different music and cultural differences in music.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Ben's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile