Alex Filonenko's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 8 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 57 References 36 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Russian; learning German, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Event manager
  • Economics
  • From Krasnogorsk, Moscow Oblast, Russian Federation
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please send me proper requests, not messages about hosting.

CURRENT MISSION

chill

ABOUT ME

I don't smoke.

I do snowboarding since 2002.

I stopped drinking vodka in November 2003 and still don't consume it neither pure nor in cocktails.

I used to travel a lot, it will take loads of time to write detailed information about all the trips, so I better will not do it. I used to make lots of weekend trips and week-long journeys, few years ago I switched to longer trips, which take few months.

I've done two hitch-hiking trips round Europe in 2007 and 2008.

In summer 2011 I've made the best trip of my whole life (as for now) around US and Mexico for 3,5 months. Couchsurfing, hitch-hiking, camping and so on, it was awesome! In summer 2014 I've made another great trip around US for 2,5 months. It was way different from the previous but I had lots of fun as well.

I was working hard as economist for TV companies since January 2008, but in February 2011 I quitted and traveled for a while. Then I worked as a charity manager for a major tea company for several months and an event manager in a small agency for more then a year. Then I switched to freelance event management. MMA in Germany and America, projects for Mercedes-Benz and FIFA, etc. Right now I work in a federal bank as a full-time event manager. I like to earn money and then spend them on travelling. Experience is priceless, everything else comes and goes.

I used to collect lots of different stuff: magnets (got 2 fridges at my hometown completely covered with them), music vinyls, beer memorabilia (glasses, coasters, caps, labels), coins, books and some other stuff.
Now I just stick to vinyls.

Many years ago I used to find hosts with the help of my friends, I've stayed in a lot of hostels, then I decided to try something different and I really love it. CS rules. Undoubtedly.

p.s. and yeah, like everybody else here, "laid back, easy going". B)

PHILOSOPHY

home is where you place your backpack tonight

I will be especially happy to host people from subcultures I'm into: punks, skins, football fans, snowboarders, bikers, rock musicians.

People who may not feel good at my place: lovers of Asia, yoga, modern art and other "enlightened" people. I'm more into down to earth people.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've registered a long time ago but didn't really use CS a lot, it was not that many people and so on. Now I use it more as CS grew into something really interesting.

I used to surf a lot. Sometimes I let my friends in for a few nights. Now I want to pay back the debt to community and help people with emergency requests. I feel that I must.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Really really positive, otherwise I won't be here.

Great thanks to all the hosts, who already hosted me and who will host me one day!

Interests

travelling, music, photos, sports, video games, pubs

  • books
  • beer
  • drinking
  • pub crawls
  • video games
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • economics
  • freelancing
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: I don't really like to waste time on movies B)

Books: fiction, books about sports, music, traveling, sometimes about politics or history

Music: punk, ska, rock'n'roll, reggae, folk, country, bluegrass, 8 bit, jazz, blues, metal, oi!, psychobilly, hardcore, rap, soul, swing, a lot of different styles.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

too much to pick two or three

Teach, Learn, Share

All I know about countries and cities I visited.

What I Can Share with Hosts

knowledge, fridge, Wi-Fi

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Russian Federation

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    4 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups