Jeremy Farrell's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 19 References 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic (Egypt), Arabic (Morocco), French, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Worked for: NGO in Tunis that facilitates higher educatio...
  • BA History, The Tulane University of Louisiana; MA, UCLA
  • From DeLand, FL
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I am a part time teacher, part time student, and a full time wild thing...

ABOUT ME

A brief biography:
I grew up in Florida and ended up in New Orleans for college - by far the best city I've ever lived in and I encourage all to visit; in the middle of all that, I spent a great year in Dublin. Afterward, I moved to North Africa (Tunisia) for two years working as a quasi-English teacher/researcher/layabout; went back to the US to study classical Arabic literature at UCLA. I then moved to Cairo as a CASA Fellow - which is just as boring and pretentious as it sounds. Lived in DC trying to do non-creepy with my Arabic, then decided to do PhD at Emory in ATL. I was once the President of the Tulane University Ornithological Society (look it up); I have a long history of losing things.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to be as real as possible while not taking anything too seriously. We have too little time here to spend it in maintaining façades or pretenses.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Surfing couches, even if they weren't through this site, saved my butt a few times in Africa, and many good friends of mine from around the world keep me believing in the validity and worth of this project. I definitely try to host when I can and can appreciate anyone who's ever needed a place to stay and a person to help out when life on the road has you down.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Surfed and been surfed.

Interests

Laughing and high-5s
Walking around - city, countryside, anywhere
Roman/Ptolemaic/Abassid/Fatamid/Almohad civilizations in their North African iterations
Garage sales

  • literature
  • walking
  • garage sales
  • surfing
  • teaching
  • history

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watched the sun set over Algeria from the top of Jugurtha's Table.

Attended a dhikr at a Berber community of 20 people. Easily the coolest...

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a good handyman: we did a lot of repairs on my house while I was young so I can fix most household problems (including plumbing and carpentry). So if you host me I will leave your house new and improved should you so desire...

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Egypt, France, Gambia, Israel, Italy, Jordan, Libya, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Morocco, Oman, Portugal, Senegal, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, Western Sahara

Countries I’ve Lived In

Egypt, Ireland, Tunisia, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jeremy’s full profile. It’s free!