Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 24 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), German, Sign Language - International
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Paramedic
  • Bachelor's degree
  • From Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

Once upon a time, I was a youth worker. I loved that job, but gave it up in order to move to China and study circus. After working in a circus for a while, I got tired of the starving artist lifestyle and became a starving student instead.
The end result is that I'm a paramedic.

So.. about me.
I'm a bit nerdy in some respects (c'mon! Circus folk are just nerds with physical hobbies). I love chocolate and food in general (except onion). I enjoy cooking and being cooked for but I feel I am still at the start of my 'foodies journey'. I'm about to go to my first Burning Man (exciting!) and am really enjoying meeting new people.

I like action and interaction, playing, teaching, learning. I think a discussion is not just for debating who knows more, but about exploring concepts and growing together. I welcome creative people interested in learning and walking their own paths into my house.
My house is gay friendly, vegetarian friendly, whatever the hell else you are friendly, as long as you don't try to push your beliefs onto anyone else.
In my surfers, I look for an understanding of couchsurfing and how it is an exchange of culture, company and so much more.
I also like people who do the dishes :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on couch surfing because I enjoy the interaction. I've met lots of fabulous people through this website over the years. I'm not here because I need free accommodation. I'm here because I enjoy getting to know local folk more than hotel staff.

Interests

Circus stuff: I can still teach a thing or two.
Music: All forms of trance, alternative, anything groovy
Languages: I really want to learn french and/or spanish.
Paramedicine

  • culture
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • ballet dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • chocolate
  • wine
  • red wine
  • walking
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • surfing
  • languages
  • physics

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
The way of the peaceful warrior by Dan Millman
Lord of the rings
Anything by David Eddings
The journal entries of Kenneth Shardik
Hitchhikers guide to the galaxy
His Dark Materials
Nelson Mandella, Lance Armstrong and Anthony Keidis biographies

Music:
Happy doof, uplifting trance, I have a heavier side that encompasses things like Tool, my classic rock such as the Foo fighters, and a definite soft spot for the beautiful. Think Sigur Ros, Lamb etc.

I am also trying to play the piano and guitar :)
Anyone who wants to provide piano lessons is ALWAYS welcome.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I was flooded in at a festival for 6 days in 2008, and chilled out to music while the SES choppered us in supplies.
I lived and trained with the Chinese Acrobats in Beijing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always happy to share my circus skills. I can juggle, fire twirl staffs and poi, play in basic acrobalance and am learning Fei Cha. I really want to learn German Wheel, pole dancing, ballet, french and spanish.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Vegemite
Queensland Salad
If discussing the differences between our healthcare systems, intersectional feminism, BLM, or how to get vaccination rates up sound like your cup of tea, we'll probably be very good friends.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, England, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Qatar, Singapore, Tanzania, Thailand, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Lily’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups