Logo orange

Alex Spencer Arellano

Vina del Mar, Valparaiso (V), Chile

Maybe Accepting Guests

25% response rate · Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Veterinarian/Musician/Photographer/V...
  • Finished University in 2012 as a Vet...
  • From Vina del Mar, Chile
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Ride Faste and Loud as Thunder! Kaminari Zoku.

ABOUT ME

I'm a 29 year old Music-nut with and 11 year old son!

Though I'm a veterinarian, I'm currently working in Environmental Education with kids from 6 to 18 years old, and the outdoors is my office: sand dunes, wetlands, forests, intertidal zone, are the main ecosystems we use as teaching quarters!

I also work as a tour guide, whether it is on Heritage Valparaiso or Kayaking in wetlands, or hiking in national parks.

I enjoy everything! from a good movie at home to a blast of a night out, from a quiet in-house conversation to a trip to the middle of nowhere, from a quiet jam session to a Metallica concert, from a hermit outdoors journey in Patagonia to a group trip to the beaches of Brazil with my mates!

I enjoy a good conversation about ANYTHING, so bring up a topic and lets see where it takes us!

I'm an outdoors/nature minded person, and so I look at life through that prism. Though I do enjoy technology and get the most out of it!

I'm a veterinarian, but I consider myself a musician with an animal health knowledge haha.

PHILOSOPHY

I live by a Maori concept, 'Kaminari Zoku': Ride fast and Loud as Thunder! Freedom is the open road, Ride fast and with control, Motivation is variegated, yet maintains a constant path towards happiness in its infinite forms.

I embrace uncertainty and welcome changes, as they challenge us and bring variety and surprises to our lives! Getting out of our comfort zone every once in a while, is a MUST!

I believe being humble and acknowledging the fact that there's always someone that knows and is better at something than you are, will always enrich your life.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I love meeting people from all over the world so I'd love to host people who are traveling through Chile, Viña del Mar/Valparaíso and Puerto Varas if I'm there.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I took a trip to the Great Ocean Road in Australia with some people from CS, and share a bunch of CS meetings in Melbourne and Sydney, which were AWESOME!

Interests

Music Music Music Music Music, Photography, Wildlife Research, Adventure Sports, Outdoor Activities, Sports in general, Literature, Films, Nature Documentaries, Birdwatching, Cooking, Tv Series, Videogames, Night life, Traveling, Gym, and a looong etc.

Music, Movies & Books

I grew up listening to Metal and Classical music, but I realized I was missing out on SO MANY experiences, that I tought myself to open up and enjoy every kind of music, from Jack Johnson to Meshuggah, from Yanni to Ulver, from John Cage to Bach, from Reggeton to Reggae, anything that gives you the goosebumps, Music as an experience, is my everyday meal.

Books, I'd have to say "Journey to Ixtlan" from Carlos Castaneda is a MUST. But I enjoy anything that takes you to weird places and shakes your conception of the world every once in a while! (or just chill at 9gag, hey! you gotta admit that procrastination is no stranger to us these days!)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Grabbing a train from Melbourne to Moree, NSW, Australia, which ended up being in the middle of NO-FREAKIN-WHERE!! This was in order to get a job, having no means to contact the employer but 'Gumtree', not knowing if I was gonna be able to meet this person when I got there, and with over 50 kilos in luggage, I challenge you to move around OZ with that! Got to a ghost town, where there were no hostels, only motels at AUS$70.0/night, cockroaches crawling everywhere, possums wandering inside the room, bad phone/internet service and a receptionist that pretty much looked like a serial killer from a Tarantino movie, with a very, VERY bad temper. I ended up going back to Sydney the next morning, 'cause I never got a message from the employer (who asked me to come to that freaking ghost town without giving me a phone or email address to contact him... yeah, I know, idiot me, but that's what you do when you're broke and desperate for a job!!!!) Anyway, I was absolutely out of my comfort zone, but HEY!! I got to ride the train 'till the end of that NSW railway line, over 9 hours, crossed TONS of little towns, enjoyed A LOT of different landscapes from a part of Australia, so in the end? A very expensive yet beautiful Train trip :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd love to share ANYTHING you might find useful! I consider myself to have a wide set of skills as I love to learn pretty much about everything. I paint, draw, take photographs, compose music, record-edit-mix-master music, I've been an art producer in some projects, I can perform surgery on animals haha, play football-tennis-ping pong-basketball-gymnastics-gym-kayak-rafting-climb-trek-swim-tree climb, tourist guide, I work doing environmental education with kids, I've done and pretend to keep doing wildlife research and conservation, I've been trained in animal health, birdwatching, I've got great writing skills, etc etc etc. Though I tend to be very good at everything I set my mind on, you'll be the judge in whether I'm good or bad, I'm humble in that sense.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Alex's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile