Ning Chung's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ning’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English, Taiwanese; learning Japanese, Russian
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Journalist
  • MA
  • From Taipei, Taiwan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm working as a Chinese financial newspaper journalist in Taiwan. Most of the topics I'm reporting are concerning China's economy and foreign policy. When I was a MA student, I used to travel alone in China for my thesis. Traveling and learning new cultures is what I enjoy for a lifetime.

In the year of 2013 to 2014, I was an exchange student in Moscow, Russia. During the stay in Russia, I gained not only Russian language but also gained a lot of friendship! I also traveled to Europe. Being a tourist, I prefer meeting local people and visiting museums rather than simply showing up at some famous tourist spots.

I majored in sociology as MA. My research topic was about Chinese women in rural area and their organizing. If you are interested, I'll be pleasant to share with you. I like sharing thoughts with various people, learning different culture. Hope to meet new friends via couchsurfing!

PHILOSOPHY

To make the world more equal and liberal.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like traveling and meeting new friends. Couch surfing is such an ideal way to meet local people.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

For the past few years, I have traveled a lot in China both in big cities and remote countryside. I stayed in farmers' house, leading an original life at that time. It was an informal but unique couch surfing experience.

The very first official CS experience was in Munich, Germany. Thanks to my host, I had a wonderful CS experience, feeling easy and cozy. The second one was in Kazan, Russia on my trans-Siberian journey. The host in Kazan is a Tatar girl from whom I learned a lot about Tatar culture.

Interests

Walking and lingering in a brand new city. Taking photos of anything attractive. Reading non-fiction novels. Listening to stories of people who had delightful or suffering experiences. My dream is to become a good listener and story-teller.

  • culture
  • walking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • surfing
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Paradiso Cinema (Italy), The Green Mile (US.), A City of Sadness(Taiwan)
Music: Jazz, classical, folk

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2013, I lived in a Chinese village alongside the Yellow river for two months. I was doing interview of the farmers collecting their stories for my MA. dissertation. In the summer of 2014, I traveled from Moscow to Lake Baikal, totally more than 7000 km and ten days on train all by myself!!! I realized how big the world is and how brave I could be, a different me that I never knew.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Japan, Latvia, Macao, New Zealand, Russian Federation, Spain, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Russian Federation

Join Couchsurfing to see Ning’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups