Matt de Stadler's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Swedish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Researcher
  • BS Aerospace engineering UVA, PhD mechanical engineering ...
  • From Newburyport, MA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

If I had to describe myself in one word it would be curious. Another option would be adventurous. I have a strong inner drive to discover, learn new things and experience life. So far this year I have visited 10 new countries... I hope to visit my 11th soon. I very much enjoy traveling and exploring new places but Stockholm might be my favorite city. I love the architecture, nearness to nature and water, history, culture, cafes and nightlife here in Stockholm.

PHILOSOPHY

I think it is important to make time for the good things in life: good food, good times with friends, time for fun and a little time for one's self. I think the best way to go through life is with a smile, an open mind and a sense of possibility.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I like to meet new people and try new things. I like to meet up with people and I am interested in trying surfing.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I went on a hike through the woods in Stockholm and I met up with a group for drinks in Budapest.

Interests

I'm a big fan of storytelling in all forms: books, movies, plays, tv show, songs, etc. I enjoy comedy, especially a good parody. Other things I enjoy include good food, farmer's markets and cooking, reading (I always have a book with me), swimming, cycling and hiking, wandering around the city, museums and music. I'm not much of a club person, I tend to prefer a more relaxed setting.

  • culture
  • books
  • architecture
  • dining
  • cooking
  • recipes
  • nightlife
  • drinking
  • clubbing
  • movies
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • computer science
  • engineering
  • history
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I read a little bit of everything. My interests are all over the place. I am always looking for suggestions... Some of my favorites: Le Petit Prince, Don Quixote, The Reluctant Fundamentalist, Collapse.

Movies: I watch alot of movies on netflix. In general I prefer serious movies but every once in a while I am in the mood for a dumb comedy. Some favorites: LA Confidential, The Usual Suspects, Memento, Night at the Roxbury, Dumb and Dumber.

TV shows: I love a good comedy. South Park, Family Guy, Archer, 3rd Rock from the Sun, Seinfeld, Curb Your Enthusiasm, Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

Music: My tastes change week to week but in general I am a big fan of songs that tell a story or express emotion. My playlists seem to have alot of American country and Russian pop/techno.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent a week traveling the ring road in Iceland. Before going I read all the Icelandic sagas I could get my hands on and then really enjoyed seeing all the different parts of the country.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to cook and can teach you some unusual American recipes (or some of my favorite recipes in general). I have a Phd in mechanical engineering so if you have specific engineering, computer science or math questions I'm happy to share my knowledge. Or if you want to talk about science in general :) I'm relentlessly curious so I love to learn new things.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Matt’s full profile. It’s free!