Mónica Arias's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mónica’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 1 Reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2014
  • Microbiologist researcher
  • Master
  • From Antioquia, Colombia
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm 26 years old girl, from Medellin, Colombia. I'm industrial microbiologist and work as researcher. I love hanging out with friends, I am still very close to my high school best friends, but I enjoy making new friends from all over the world, because I think is great to share other habits and points of view. I love listening to music most of the time, going to different cities, or places around the city I live in, having interesting dinners and conversation or also just being quiet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm in couhsurfing because it's a great chance to meet nice people and special places in every city from locals advice and company.

Interests

I am a passionate about several kind of things, between them mushrooms and their application (as it is my professional speciality); learning languages, so far I'm improving my english skills, and I'm french basic, I expected to increase all these levels and also continue with german. Besides I love all the historical stuff around old places, museums, performances, movies, books, streets, people, etc, all kind of things that can tell me an old story.

I enjoy cooking and therefore eating,hehe. I love rock music, but also salsa and reggae, so I enjoy going to the kind of places where I can listen and dance that kind of music.

  • books
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • movies
  • music
  • rock music
  • languages
  • tours
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Foo fighters, the killers, Soda stereo, Joe arroyo, disclosure and many more. Between my favorites books are del amor y otros demonios and the picture of Dorian grey. And between my favorites movies are Kill Bill, Star wars and vicky Christina Barcelona.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The first moment that comes to my memory, was after a 3 hours wild walk in the montains of El Retiro -Antioquia (A rural town in Colombia), we were exhausted but we didn^t stop until the top, and it abosuletly worth it, one of the most amazing landscapes and early dusk I have ever seen, any sound was present in that place, and we just sat at the edge of the mountain and stay looking to the wind paradise in front of us, amazing!!!

I lived the second one moment, in Montanita - Ecuador, this is such an amazing little town, with beautiful warm beaches, I was fascinated about this because I have never seen such a cosmopolitan place, I mean people from a lot of countries, everyone in a relaxed plan, you can make a new friend in every corner, weather was perfect, no so hot because of the mountains behind the city, and no so cold because of the sun; a lot of delicious food to taste and the prices were cheap. You just have to be, in that place, I did the trip by myself, I cant describe the freedom and the awesomeness I felt in every moment.

And the third moment would be in Paris, just after our 12 hours flight from Colombia, we were carrying with all our luggage during several hours from Charles de Gaulle airport in metro, so we were lost, really tired and hungry, but at the moment we found a light coming from some upstairs and went them up, we saw huge buildings and streets, a indescribable feeling to me, I felt like in one of the movies I watched.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd like help teaching Spanish, maybe dancing and cooking some colombian dishes, I also would like to help with tips about places to go, and what to do in the city and nearby.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Even if currently I can't offer my house, I could offer myself as kinda guide for day or night life activities or helping with maybe more official issues.

Countries I’ve Visited

Colombia, Ecuador, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, France

Join Couchsurfing to see Mónica’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups