Francisco Lima's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Francisco’s full profile.

Overview

  • 56 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Spanish; learning Czech, German, Russian
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Teacher, translator, proofreader, sometimes tour guide, i...
  • English Philology, Spanish Philology, Teacher of Foreign ...
  • From Spain
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Back in Málaga for some time, probably not for long.

This is not just about books, cinema, music, art in general, but about every human being and everything in life. Think twice and listen- read/consider before you judge-define anybody- any country, anything.. Using your brains is for free and can help not to make many terrible mistakes and to fall in stupid prejudices/stereotypes:

https://www.ted.com/talks/chimamanda_adichie_the_danger_of_a_single_story/transcript?language=en

Me in other media¨:

https://www.instagram.com/salamandrosvejk/
https://www.facebook.com/francisco.lima.357

I am living in Moscow now and looking forward to meet knew people here :)

CURRENT MISSION

Enjoy life, make the most of it, know more people cultures make new friends, write, learn more, and do something you like with your time here and contribute at least to leave a better world than the (in too many cases shitty) stuff- social systems, "countries", we have built so far in most places...
It is wonderful if yours is a powerful, well-off or well connected family, but that does not make you a better human being, just gives you an easier life. Not everyone is so lucky as to be born in the "right" family/ environment/ country. Remember that.

ABOUT ME
(((Teacher of Spanish and English as a Foreign language. Teacher of literature and language. Translator. Proofreader. Ghostwriter, etc...)))
I cannot help but I lovi to keep as healthy and fit as much as possible (working schedules, place of residence, etc do not always help in this). It does not mean I don´t drink, but I drink moderately and from time to time, when nature demands it from me, and do not force it on myself.
And... mmmm. ... Impossible to say in a few words, better try to get to know more about me. And do not judge the book because of its cover or just after reading a few pages. For your own sake and that of intelligence and fairness ;)
Reading, travelling, cinema, many kinds of music, doing some gymnastics, hiking, running, biking... Learning new things, learning in general, , meeting interesting people, making new friends and acquaintances, going out, parks, nature, walks, art, architecture, photography, exhibitions... I am also very interested in history, sociology, anthropology... Life is too short, so much to learn and enjoy...
I try to survive this "gulag of capitalism" where we are forced to live, our freedom maimed by unsteady, underpaid jobs (does not matter how long you studied) , too high rents, impossible mortgages, lack of connections to get a good job, where we are punished for not belonging to an elite, the right family, contacts, etc, because of xenophobia (I lost my job at university because of that "the problem is that I am a foreigner", the accountant with important contacts who managed to kick me out of university said to me, and have been attacked several times now, just like so many others) , etc, with the most positive approach I can. Life is too short to keep on mourning because of this kind of stuff, so I try to make the best of the opportunities I get, to become a better teacher/ translator/ proofreader, but not everything is work (languages, linguistics /sociology, history, literature are not the only thing), I try to enjoy life after work, try to find some time for myself, even if sometimes I see myself forced to work in too many places at the same time.
I am especially interested in German and Russian cultures and languages, but English is a language I love too, of course.
I do admire the tolerant advanced societies from certain countries in Europe, I would have loved to live there and enjoy a tolerant welfare state society maybe from some Scandinavian country, but I bet everything on the Czech Republic and there I lived 11 eleven years bet many more of my life to this country, and tried to stay forever. In spite of growing xenophobia and pasive/ colaborative when not directly encouraging attitude of government about this (a problem in the whole of Europe) and the incredibly low salaries it still has so much to offer.
I am not a salsa dancer, sorry :)
I am not gay, I am utterly hetero, but absolutely tolerant, I don´t care at all what you are, some of the best people I met were gay and lesbian, it is just like the colour of your skin or nationality, it has nothing to do with how good or bad person you are to others.
Regarding food, I am not a vegetarian because of the necessary proteins even if I am not proud of that, I try not to eat an excess of meat in my diet, vegetables are healthier, the best is fish, like the great stuff you can taste in the South of Spain. It is s one of the best and funniest sources of proteins... :)
I understand we are killing too many animals and spending too much water on meet, etc, but to replace animal proteins with sugar and industrial sweets/ cookies, etc is not an option for me. And many of us do not enjoy such a high and privileged (or "privileged" in other cases) social status as to be able to allow ourselves a vegetarian diet and keep fit enough to struggle in the job market. And it is very nice to worry about animal suffering but we should also worry about human suffering, how people are living maimed lives in too many places living like semi-slaves or with the stigma of being unemployed just because they do not accept underpaid jobs, or because they were not lucky because of their social position, country/ family where they were born and so many other circumstances. Working hard and well does not always means success and a getting the fair reward for your job. Too many people discover that too late.
I also love to try to keep fit all the time, I am not an athlete at all, but I love the healthy part of it, the endorphines, well being... :)
I enjoy nature, hiking, gymnastics, running and many other sports. Doing, not just watching... :)
I do try to be tolerant and I love to make new friends and acquainances. I want to travel much more too.
I am in love with Prague and other cities from Europe, like Berlin, Amsterdam, Moscow...
I love sport, cinema, reading, some dance, nature...
Cooking sometimes

PHILOSOPHY

Live and let live.
Learn as much as life lets you. Fight your own ignorance does not mean just being bookish, even if in books there is always so much knowledge... and in life. Enjoy the pleasure of learning and giving and helping.
Love as much as you can when it is possible. If u find her for a long time, even for life, great, if not, keep on trying, time is running out during all our lives. Too fast and furious running out from us. This bastard time/ Cronus...
Try not to harm no one.
Try to enjoy as much as u can. And to help others enjoy too.
Try to learn as much as u can, no matter if sometimes it is hard or complicated. It is not always painful learning. Ignorance very often make us happier, unfortunately, but so does learning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To meet up, to met new people, make new friends, to share and learn.

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Offering my modest apartment and knowledge of Prague and company. Would like to get accommodation and maybe some kind of friendship to visit other places in the future.
I don´t ask my surfers to pay me beers and food, even if that is always nice, but I don´t like freeloaders who just come to my flat, I give them everything I can and then they don´t even have time to offer back to host me or at least write a reference about their stay. And if u ask me why I work so many hours in so many places, it is just to pay the bills and live and survive, I am certainly not getting rich with these jobs of mine. Of course I would love to have more time for myself and to meet people during the working week, of course...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far just mostly a host a host, another generous surfer hosted me once. It is complicated for me to find hosts in CS, and also I did not have much chance because of several jobs at the same time just to pay the rent and survive as a teacher in Prague , overlapping holidays with work, etc. :(

Interests

Cinema, literature, music, art, learning languages, history, anthropology, sociology, other cultures, countries, people, traveling, gymnastics, nature, modern dancing (not now, recovering after knee operation, can walk, run a bit, cycle but no dance yet), cooking, nature, trekking... and much more of course :o))

  • arts
  • literature
  • documentaries
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • running
  • politics
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • gymnastics
  • anthropology
  • teaching
  • history
  • languages
  • sociology
  • tourism
  • travel
  • nature
  • linguistics
  • trekking
  • healthy food
  • healthy living
  • acroyoga
  • healthy lifestyle
  • calisthenics
  • translation
  • ecstatic dance
  • healthy cooking
  • low cost running
  • improvisation contact
  • sports and therapeutical massage
  • not consummerism running

Music, Movies, and Books

Too many that I don´t write now, just a sample: Woody Allen, Amenábar, Bolláin, Saura, Buñuel, del Toro, Werner Herzog, Coppola, Scorsese, Stone, Gaspar Noé, Lars von Trier, Kubrik... so many and many more, a shame not to mention here...
Game of Thrones, Rome, the Tudors...
The girl with the dragon tattoo, Manuel Vázquez Montalbán, Orwell, Marvin Harris, Chomsky, Michel Foucault, Stephen King, Jan Guillou, Haefs, Cortázar, Borges, Allende, Márquez, Vargas Llosa, Kundera, Lustig , Primo Levi, Zola, Turgueniev, Barthes, Derrida, so many and many more a shame not to mention here......
U2, The Mission, Cocteau Twins, Dead can Dance, Lisa Gerrard, Ultravox, Depeche Mode, Big country, Duran Duran, David Bowie, OMD, Kraftwerk, Evanescence, Fields of the Nephilim, Talking heads, Led Zeppelin, The cure, Scorpions, REM, Suzanne Vega, New Order, Joy Division, Visage, Talk talk, Black, Rage against the machine, Jethro Tull... And so many more and more and more...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was about to die once while working.
When I have travelled, many times and palces and still always too few.
Learning, discovering, sharing... too many and too few times at the same time, life is too, too short and still u have to work and earn your living... :( / :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Tolerant, open minded who try to enjoy life, to live and let live, to respect and be respected.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My conversation, company and the very modest place where I might be living in every moment, depending on where I am living and working.
I love to live abroad and I move here and there in and out of Spain, from time to time.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Morocco, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Serbia, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Germany, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Francisco’s full profile.

My Groups