Logo orange

Paul Klambauer

Freistadt, Upper Austria, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I study English at the University of...
  • No education listed
  • From Grew up in Upper Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Repairing my bike

ABOUT ME

I think that by default I am a rather calm person.
I like being around my friends, drink, joke around and celebrate but I also need my quiet afternoons in a coffee house with books, newspapers and coffee (yeah, I love coffee)
I study a Masters Degree called Creative Writing in Hildesheim, Germany and currently I am focussing on scriptwriting. Before that, I studied humanities because I always felt the need to know more about how literature works, how society makes us behave in a certain way, in general the whole puzzling human condition made me very curious, and it still does. (Studying humanities did not help too much btw)OK...thats for the philosophical part...so what else..Oh yes, I love everything connected to good humour and satire, from Monty Python to little Brittain to the Simpsons to Family Guy to TITANIC to Terry Pratchet to Douglas Adams to the Cohen Brothers and so on :)

PHILOSOPHY

Yes please!

No seriously, that kind of stuff we can discuss over the third bottle of wine.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I started participating during my erasmus-term in barcelona. My flatmates had a lot of couchsurfing experience and started to invite people over, and I was amazed how smooth and comfortable and above all interesting and funny all our guests behaved! So I thought I will give it a shot myself, and since I am spending August in the countryside and have a room to spare I will be glad to host you.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have only experiences as a host so far, but those were all fine. I hope to surf some couches in the summertime though, maybe in France or Spain.

Interests

I enjoy literature, theatre and film. Music interests me in general but I am not musical at all so most of the times I just listen to it because it fits my mood or the situation, I am not a good sparing partner for music expert discussion.

Sportswise I like to ride my bike through the beautiful hills and forrests of Upper Austria in the summer time, in the winter time I like to ski occasionally.

Music, Movies & Books

Authors I enjoy are Thomas Bernhard, Albert Camus, Anna Mitgutsch, Robert Menasse, Wolf Haas, James Joyce, Dylan Thomas, Charles Dickens etc. etc..
movies I recently watched and enjoyed where Inglorious Bastards, Synecdoche, A serious man, There will be blood etc..

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Sunset experiences seem to be very popular here, so I will tell mine:

After a night full of deep nonsensical conversations and wine I wanted to watch the sunrise with a friend. We positioned ourselves in the garden, assumed an "Amazing thing is about to happen" expression. We waited. For a long time. The sky was suspiciously bright. We turned around. That damn sun had risen behind us.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can probably teach you one or two good recipes...also I know how to ride a bike!

Countries I've Visited

Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, France, Greece, Italy, Montenegro, Serbia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Germany, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Paul's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile