Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 15 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • aspiring homesteader/food preparer/potter/crafter... with...
  • high school & community college ceramics classes
  • From Mostly in Oklahoma, USA.
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To spread the good news of homemade mayonnaise. And to learn how to tell jokes in Spanish.


Apparently, I am the type of person who doesn't update their online profiles very often. Life plows relentlessly forward- sprouting, growing, fluxing, adapting, dying- yet my online persona stays stagnant and unchanged for years! Well, with an impending trip on the horizon, I am motivated to update my profile (only to leave it outdated once again).
Myself and my furry traveling companion, Gypsy (a wistful yet ultimately ironic name for a dog who would much prefer to have a fixed home to look after, rather than live a nomadic lifestyle), are setting off on a meandering, summer-long road trip where we hope to visit friends and family across the US with some short term volunteer farm stints and couchsurfing thrown in the mix.
I am a generally affable gal. I strive for real, genuine experiences and expression (inherently difficult within the confines of the interweb). I am a slowpoke. Often reserved, contemplative and observant, I am at times chattering, crass and crude. To quote Walt Whitman, "Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes."
I like jars. I like finding the perfect sized jar for bits of this and that. Can you think of anything more wholesome than a mason jar? If I were to put a picture to my idea of complete satisfaction, it would be a shelf-lined wall full of neatly arranged jars of preserved food and herbs and magic potions.
Gypsy is a well-behaved Aussie Shepherd mutt mix. She likes chasing things, but is not that interested in retrieving. She loves people who love her, she tolerates other dogs and is fine around children, so long as they leave her alone.
We are both house trained.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have been hosted by the most amazing, kind, generous, trusting and trustworthy folks in Mexico, Guatemala and here in the states. I've made lifelong friends and memories. I tell anyone who is interested how great CSing is and have perhaps even converted a few skeptics. I hope to share the warmth and kindness I've received.


Food and everything about it- growing it, preparing it, eating it. Sustainable housing, pottery, permaculture, biodynamic farming, botany, alternative health care, travel, etc. etc.

  • dogs
  • dining
  • clothing
  • news
  • traveling
  • pottery
  • knitting
  • homesteading
  • magic
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

I like to read, listen and watch.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm no expert in any one thing, but I'd be happy to share any tidbits I've picked up along my way. Perhaps you'd like to know how to make sauerkraut, are wondering what an Earthship is, have always wanted to knit a washcloth, or are curious what a lettuce looks like when gone to seed.
I'd love to learn about whatever it is you like to teach. I'm particularly interested in strengthening my Spanish skills. I'd like to learn to alter clothes, to walk on a slack line and am keen to hone any homesteading skills.
And perhaps good food, belly laughs and stories will be shared.

Countries I’ve Visited

Guatemala, Laos, Mexico, Thailand

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Jessica’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups