Logo orange

Ellen van Holstein

Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia

Maybe Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in Dutch; learning English, German, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • PhD candidate
  • university
  • From valkenswaard
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

to be amazed

ABOUT ME

I like to challenge myself. I used to do that through studying in the university. I am now trying to look for other ways to define me, to encourage myself and to get satisfaction from. Traveling helps me to do that. All the people I meet and all the places that I visit make me put my daily dutch activities in a broader perspective. I am an inquisitive person. I like learning, I like people explaining things I'm not familiar with. I like to know how people live and what is important for them. I don't like not understanding things. That makes me unquiet.

Me gusta desafiar mi misma. Lo hice a traves de estudiar en la universidad. Estoy buscando otras maneras para definirme, para animarme y para darme satisfaccion. Viajar me ayuda hacerlo. Todas personas a que conozco, todos lugares que visito me dejan poner mis tareas cotidianas holandesas en una perspectiva mas amplia. Soy fisgona. Me gusta aprender. Me gusta que la gente me explica cosas, que me enseña. Me gusta saber como la gente vivi, que hace, cuales cosas son importantes para las personas quienes viven en los lugares que visito. A mi no me gusta no entender cosas. Eso me pone inquieto.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that people are essentially good. Also I believe that you eventually get what you give. And finally I think that in the end good company is what makes or brakes the fun.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I think that the most important thing is to create a good sphere while meeting couchsurfers. That way everybody's willingness to participate in it will grow.

Interests

I am very interested in cities. I really find it fasciniating what happends when people live very dense. People tend to get very creative, I like that. I want to know how they manage, how they get arooud. I think that it's important to know how people live, how they use space, so that it could be improved in the future. Therefor I'm studying architecture, urbanism and cultural geography. Next to that I like almost all forms of art: literature, movies, painting, sculpture, photography, etc. I love festivals, I visit at least three every summer.

Music, Movies & Books

I like slow, mellow movies. I like the ones that aren't too explicit about what is reality and what is a dream. I like the ones that focus on character and the ones that bring together several plots in a surprising way. In music it al depends on the occasion... I like dreamy piano music when at home, up beat indie when I feel like dancing, deephouse and minimal when it's time to really get the show on the road.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Very small things can amaze me. It could be a little butterfly flying through the light of a film projector casting it's shadow on the screen, the sun breaking through the clouds or the sound of the rain on a tent. The best to be amazed by though, is people. To be amazed by someone's kindness, cheerfulness or positive energy, I like best.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have studied art history, architecture, urbanism, and cultural geography. I could tell anything about these subjects with pleasure! I could also tell about the history of European cities. I've seen them all, and I had to read and write about them a lot. I can teach a bit of cooking skills and I know how to sew. I would like to learn how to edit pictures and images.

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Colombia, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, San Marino, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Colombia, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Ellen's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile