Barbara Dove

Rochester, NH, USA

Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning French, German, Italian, Spanish
  • 54, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Motorcycle Riding Instructor, Landscape Designer
  • Rutger's University, NJ - BS in Landscape Architecture
  • From Quincy, MA USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Life is a Banquet! Let's Feast!!


I'm an adventurous person and love to try new things, see new places, and meet new people. I have raised a lovely daughter, and now have 2 wonderful grandkids. I've had several jobs including being a US Marine, working at Medieval Faires, and interesting career as a Landscape Architect. I am now enjoying life as a Motorcycle Riding Instructor. It's seasonal but leaves me time for family, friends, and travel. Recently I decided to make a change and do and see all those things that have enticed me for so long. So look out world, hear I come.


Every day is a holiday, Every day is a feast. Enjoy life and all it has to offer. We only go around once!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'd like to host travelers while I'm home. I also hope to meet many folks and see their homes through their eyes. I'm pretty handy in the home and garden and will lend a hand if any host should need it.


Although I've hosted a number of travelers at my former home, I have yet to actually be a guest. But I'm striking out on a road trip this summer that will hopefully initiate me into staying with and meeting folks across the US.


I have many hobbies including gardening, motorcycling, swing dancing, scrapbooking, and, of course, travel!

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I love classic rock, big band music, musicals, and some pop music. Next month I'll be seeing Milo Z, a Funk band.
Books: I used to read fantasy and sci fi, I found a love for mystery books. Now I tend to read mostly informative and non-fiction books. The last book I read was "Vagabonding" by Rolf Potts
Movies: I love action and adventure, musicals, kids movies, comedies, and mysteries.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think the most amazing thing I've done is seeing my granddaughter's birth. Most recently though, I did something I swore I never would when I experienced an extreme spiritual ordeal - hook suspension. It truly changed me in ways I never thought possible.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm happy to share my knowledge of Landscaping and Gardening, English language, and Motorcycling. I have some practical skills and would be willing to share. I'm hoping to learn many languages, about many cultures, I'm especially fond of learning local customs and lifestyles. I'd love to learn about all sorts of gardening and landscaping techniques.

What I Can Share with Hosts

When I visit, I'm happy to share stories of the road and folks I have hosted, cook a meal and/or help with anything you may need.

I'm a physical person, great with yard or house work. Yes, I will build stone walls or paint your living room!! I can teach you to ride a motorcycle or to hone your skills. I can help you fix one too!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Barbara’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups