Maia Mounsher's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Thai
  • 30, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • English Teacher
  • University of Sussex (Development Studies)
  • From High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have been teaching English for three years. Before that I was working as a carer. I studied international Development at Sussex University in Brighton. I love animals, my friends and family, learning languages and volunteering. I am left wing. I live with my boyfriend. We've been together for almost six years and we have lived in England (Brighton), Thailand and South Korea together. My boyfriend is also an English teacher. In his spare time he is a writer and movie critic. We are both vegetarians and like to rescue animals :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We are interested in travelling around Thailand, Laos and maybe Burma but we'd like to meet interesting people. I think it's extremely generous and open minded to open your home to complete strangers. Every Couchsurfer I've ever met has lived up to this expectation! Actually, accommodation in these countries is very cheap, so the main reason we're interested in Couchsurfing is that we'd like to make new friends and see their perspectives on local life. Hopefully we can return the favor some day.

Interests

Me:
Reading
Knitting/Sewing/Craft
Animals
Thai language
Playing Guitar
Human Rights
Gender equality
Working with people
Volunteering
Campaigning

My boyfriend:

  • animals
  • writing
  • singing
  • human rights
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • guitar
  • teaching
  • languages
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Films:
Baz Luhrmann's 'Romeo and Juliet'
'What Dreams May Come'
'Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind'
'Pan's Labyrinth'
'Persepolis'
Richard Linklater

Music:
Deftones
Nirvana
Rolling Stones
Gram Parsons
The Pixies

Books/Authors:
Salmon Rushdie
Hunter S Thompson
Louis De Bernieres
'Persepolis'
'Three cups of tea'
Jack Kerouac

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

This is a difficult question to answer without seeming immodest! I suppose my current goal is something which is quite important to me. As I said, I have been working as an English teacher for three years. The first year I lived in Thailand and the last two years I've been in South Korea. It has been amazing at times but the main reason I've been living away from my family and friends (who I miss every day) is that I have been saving money to volunteer long term in Thailand. I have nearly reached my target (enough to live on for two years with no pay) and will return in 2016 to volunteer at a shelter for youth who are at risk of human trafficking. I have always volunteered part time on various projects, but to volunteer long term like this has been a goal of mine for more than 10 years! It's part of the reason I want to travel. I have been learning Thai for the two years I've been in South Korea so that I can be a useful volunteer and translator for the charity. I'm hoping to regain some speed and fluency by traveling this year.

Teach, Learn, Share

We both love teaching. In our spare time we even volunteer teaching at orphanages here in South Korea! (They're not scams, don't worry!) and love learning too. We lived in Bangkok and would love to swap stories and recommendations for cool things to do in Thailand. We both like to play guitar and sing for fun.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are both English teachers with three years of experience. We can help you to learn/practice your English. I can read, write and speak in Thai (though I'm not perfect!) so if you are a foreigner looking to improve your Thai, maybe I could help with that! My boyfriend is a writer and is planning to direct a feature length film in Thailand in 2016. He could help you with your writing endeavors and would love to meet other people who are involved in movies. I would love to network with anyone involved in human rights, anti-trafficking or other development projects in Thailand.

Countries I’ve Visited

France, Italy, Laos, Morocco, Netherlands, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

South Korea, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Maia’s full profile. It’s free!