Logo orange

Eva DAndrea

Brooklyn, New York, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Eva's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 4 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Student
  • B.A., International Development and ...
  • From Bridgeport, CT USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

Well. . .

I am a Virgo with a Sagittarius moon and Scorpio rising. It has been said before that I have a bit of a Victorian mind. I like the artful use of language (and decry the fact that on so regular a basis i swear with such fluency). So as we can see I am, like most, a bit of a contradiction.

Since graduating I have been work work working, and am looking to expand my experiences a bit. I had gone to a 10 day silent meditation (through the Vipassana folks, and I highly recommend it) hoping to have a better understanding afterwards of what I wanted to do with my life. And though I have no clearer understanding as to what cause I should devote myself to for this life, I understood pretty quickly after my return that my current lifestyle is not living at all.

And so I have quit my job of two years. In November 2009 I returned for another meditation, and then lived in NYC for 2 months before moving to Italy. Currently I am living outside of Milano, working as an au pair for a local family. Immediately prior to my move to Milan I spent two weeks working on an organic farm in Toscana.

PHILOSOPHY

Figuring this one out.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have not yet had the opportunity to host anyone, due to the fact that none of my living situations have allowed for it. But I would be happy to meet up with someone for coffee! And I do look forward, in the future, to offering my place to someone to crash (once I have a place to offer). And of course I attend CS events in Milano, which are great.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

thus far CS events only.

Interests

I love to walk, to amble about and examine the architecture of my environment. I love coffee, wine, good conversation, good music, sunblock, eating with friends, a good book. I love the sound of trees rustling. I like miniskirts, meditation, vinyl records. Worm farming and recycling, plants.

Music, Movies & Books

My most recent read, which I think is a must for any traveler, is The Colossus of Maroussi by Henry Miller. Other faves include: 'Sometimes a Great Notion' by Ken Kesey. Catch 22. Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison. Franny and Zooey. Recently was on a bit of a Hemingway kick.

Movies I enjoy include Before Night Falls, Eastern Promises, Focus, Iron Man. I like dramas mostly.

Music I am fond of includes: Radiohead In Rainbows, Bjork Medulla, Elliot Smith, the Good the Bad and the Queen, Tapes and Tapes, the first album by the Kings of Leon, the Kinks, Led Zeppelin, Cat Power, old Motown, etc.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I think the 10 day silent meditation was a pretty amazing experience. And I just ran the beach to beacon 10K, and that was pretty rad.

Teach, Learn, Share

Well I sew a bit. I am reiki certified and give a good massage.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Germany, Iceland, Netherlands, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Eva's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile