Logo orange

Lea Cooke

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lea's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 6 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Dreamer, Traveller, Idealist
  • Diploma in Jewellery, Diploma in Dig...
  • From Auckland, New Zealand
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To continue being a living connection for like minded people.

ABOUT ME

Well this isn't all about me but here is somewhat of a summary: -Born and raised in Auckland, New Zealand -Spent three months studying in Tokyo when I was 14. -I make sterling silver Jewellery -I lived in London for a couple of years, my visa ran out and I returned to NZ, studied Digital Media and now I'm moving to Melbourne (Jan 2012). -Used to work doing HR in Social Services -I like going to gigs -I love dancing when I feel like it -I'm interested in media, creative processes, other cultures -I'm vegetarian but not fussy with it.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is to be lived.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I was in London I went to group meets and met some cool/interesting travellers for meals and market exploring.

I would like to have a home where I could accommodate Couch Surfers but I have not been fortunate enough to have my own home or to live with people who understood the ethics of couchsurfing yet (my old house mate thought it would be a great idea to get a couchsurfer to stay in exchange for work on the gardens but that didn't seem like the appropriate spirit to go into hosting with to me).

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've spent a good deal of time sleeping on couches and had all sorts of folk stay on mine.

Growing up my family used to host language students and then some of those students went home and then came back to stay with us again bringing their friends and partners...

The people/friends I've lived with over the years are generally eccentric creative types and we've often had friends of friends, touring musicians and the likes crashing in the living room.

I've stayed on Jon's couch in Sandvika, Leo's couch in Copenhagen, and Magda's in Edinburgh. I've had some great times with some of the girls I met at a vege CS CS meet-ups in London and also met up for coffee and market expeditions with some really interesting locals and travellers whilst in London.

Interests

-Thinking about how I came to be and how others came to be here in this exact moment at this exact point of time.

-Challenging my comfort zones.

-Hearing others share what they find important.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Night swimming surrounded by phosphoresence off a boat in Halong Bay, Vietnam.

Cappadocia.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could teach you how to weave a necklace using fine silver wire however it would take a bit of organising to suss out materials...

I could show you how to make some yum vege food...

I'm always up for learning new things if opportunity arises.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Brunei Darussalam, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Italy, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Norway, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Japan, New Zealand, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Lea's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile