Kasia Juno

Berlin, Berlin, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasia’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English; learning Afrikaans, French, German, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • recovering grad student, writer, musician, English teacher
  • Music college, Honors BA in English Lit and Creative Writ...
  • From South Africa and Nelson, Canada and Montreal (a little bit).
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Deutsch zu lernen


I'm based out of Berlin and am loving it! Met so many great people here...a little bit about me: I've been in school forever, or seems like it anyway. At this moment I've finished an MA in English Lit and Creative Writing and am off adventuring. I love drawing and making music. I play guitar and write my own tunes but would like to get into electronic music (Berlin influence)...check out my website to hear a few songs. I love meeting new people, playing music, watching movies and good shows (Downton Abbey and 30 Rock), getting absorbed in a book, going to the theatre or to see stand up, drinking wine, having late night discussions about Jane Austen, politics, ways to make the world a better place, Shakespeare, vampires etc...or dancing dancing dancing!


"We need four white walls and a silence where the poet's voice can weep and sing" - Lorca

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I started a Creative Writing Group in Berlin in the fall.
I wish to build a community, make friends around the globe, and experience other possible worlds...to dance and laugh as much as possible!


I couch surfed while on a bike trip in Quebec. It was an enjoyable experience which lead to me couch surfing in Barcelona and Greece a few summers ago, and then in Tenerife, Poland and Budapest -- which was amazing! Looking forward to surfing and hosting more in the future!


writing, reading, dancing,listening to 'sad stories about the death of kings', music making, bike riding, watching documentary films, drawing with charcoal, discovering new bike lanes, staying up all night drinking vodka and cranberry juice, beaching, hanging out with my nephew, Mateo, whom I adore but never get to see because Canada is so big...

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: The Road, Giovanni's Room, Disgrace, Orlando, A Complicated Kindness, Lolita, Song of Solomon, Coming through Slaughter, The Bell Jar, A spot of bother, This Side of Brightness, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Edible Women, Sula, Animal Dreams, Nights at the Circus, Wuthering Heights, Northanger Abbey, Alice in Wonderland, Mary Poppins, The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, Ethel and Ernest, Dubliners, The Butcher Boy, A Room of One's Own, Glass Irony and God, The Stone Diaries and anything by Raul Dual with illustrations, Lorca, Adrienne Rich, Sarah Kane...
movies: Benny and Joon, Completely Naked, Phil the Alien, Stranger than Fiction, Do the Right Thing, Mansfield Park, The Red Violin, Last Night, Walk the Line, Malstrom, Shrek, C.R.A.Z.Y, The Hours...also documentary films like 'A touch of Greatness', 'The Weather Underground' and 'Jesus Camp'

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I lived on a sailboat one summer while going on tour with a band in BC, Canada. I was the valedictorian of my university's graduating year and had to deliver a speech in front of 3000 people, and I have seen a leopard on the highway in South Africa. I am sure I have done and seen other notable things but i can't remember them right now.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to learn languages and dances(and then have to relearn as I forget very quickly)....
I've toured as a professional musician and given music lessons (guitar voice). I've also taught drawing and academic and creative writing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Greece, Lithuania, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, South Africa

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Kasia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups