Logo orange

Sushant Puri

New Delhi, Delhi, India

Maybe Accepting Guests

100% response rate · Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sushant's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 9 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Hindi
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • medical student
  • 4th year in med school
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To go through the recommended books in my school by the end of 2013. I'll try to run a half marathon early next year and maybe improve the little Russian I know....

ABOUT ME

Born in Delhi, India and did my schooling from a school here. I joined med school after passing out of school. I was at the Johns Hopkins University for research in 2012. My final year at med school ends in Dec 2013 and hospital internship in 2014 and I would be in US again for 4-5 months again in 2014 and will apply for residency and/or doctoral program when I'm there.
I love to learn new things and try to do things that I enjoy!

PHILOSOPHY

I don't know anything but all I know that everything becomes interesting once you go deep enough. Richard Feynman.
And those who were seen dancing were thought to be insane by those who could not hear the music. Nietzsche.
To laugh often and much; To win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children; To earn the appreciation of honest critics and endure the betrayal of false friends; To appreciate beauty, to find the best in others; To leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch, or a redeemed social condition; To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded. Ralph Waldo Emerson

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a room in a basement of my house. It is fully furnished you will have a bed of your own. Delhi Metro is 500 m from my place which will take you to most places in Delhi. Because of work I may not be able to show you around the monuments here but if I'm free I'll be glad to share Delhi and India's history and archaeological sites to visit(my first love was history and the mughal architecture and so i'm still in touch with them!)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I was earlier skeptical about this whole surfing business. I got a request from a neurology researcher at Harvard who had to come to Baltimore for a day and because we shared similar interests I gave it a try. It was fun talking to him and as luck would have it I received an invitation from a wonderful host in DC and now I'm addicted to CS!! I also got a chance to host another surfer who's an artist and went to dc again and a rock concert!

Interests

Spend my day shuffling between different activities. Watching Spanish movies, reading Russian/Soviet novels, running, playing guitar, thinking inane stuff inordinately, and once in a while try my hand at chess or playing soccer. Medical studies occupy most of my time nowadays. I plan to become a researcher after I grow up a bit more!!

Music, Movies & Books

Watching post-Soviet Russian movies for the past many months. I love watching biopics and dramas.
Depending on mood I could be listening to alternative to heavy metal to country to pop to jazz to classical to....
Been reading books on neurosciences and psychiatry for the past many months. During leisure time I prefer catching on to Russian novels or books on cold war.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

played with lion cubs at pilanesberg national park, south africa. went to alexandria from baltimore one evening, talked to an iranian and a russian over breakfast the next day, had supper with french CSers, returned right on time to baltimore for a rock concert and wathced 3 idiots at night. all in a single day!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am a medical student so I can discuss and tell about various medical conditions, their prevention, treatment and progression. I've also had a research training experience at the Johns Hopkins University so I have a little background in the methodologies scientific biological research.

Countries I've Visited

Nepal, South Africa, United States

Countries I've Lived In

India

Join Couchsurfing to see Sushant's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile