Logo orange

Hanna Lindley-Jones

London, London, England

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hanna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 18 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Bislama, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • International Development
  • Masters level
  • From Oxford, UK
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Trying to see as many places and meet as many interesting people in the short time available to me

ABOUT ME

I am an outgoing, caring, fun loving person. I am British and Swedish but have lived in a number of countries including the South Pacific nation of Vanuatu. I currently live in London and have a very busy life but do want to get back to my experiences of travelling and meeting more people around the world.

I love meeting new people, having great discussions. Seeing new things, dancing and lazy afternoons watching films, reading books and lounging around. I have always been a fan of the idea of couchsurfing, having grown up in a household where we often hosted random people, mostly the children of long lost friends of my parents or others that we may not have met before. It was always fun having someone new sleeping on a mattress in the living room and getting to know a new person. I have been told that I am a good person to hang out with and can make conversation with anyone if I have to.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe that people are generally good. Everyone has an interesting story to tell and most people are easy to get on with as long as you can find the right conversation starter. I'm generally a happy person but can get a bit down if I feel left out or lonely but do enjoy spending time on my own as well.

I think the world would be a better place if more people realised that most people are basically the same even though they can have different outlooks on life or backgrounds.

I think kids are the easiest people to get on with in a different culture as they have no hang-ups and always enjoy the same things. You can always make a child laugh by chasing them around making a scary roar and tickling them when you catch them. This is great for breaking down boundaries. If only it worked on adults too!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have mostly been a surfer and not much of a host as I have not had any space to host people in as yet. However I also enjoy being part of couchsurfing communities when I can and have had great times meeting up with other CSers at nights out in as divers places as Wellington, Vanuatu and Oxford.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have so far mostly been hosted by wonderful people on my travels. I have not had much chance to be a host myself yet but am looking forward to a more settled future where I will be able to get into a couchsurfing scene in London. I have been really lucky to have been hosted by some amazing people so far that have really showed me what CS is all about. I have felt immediately at home and have been shown such generosity that you wouldn't believe. Even as far as being driven to the airport when my taxi didn't arrive in Malaysia! I really enjoy the way couchsurfing enables you to meet real people while travelling and not just other backpackers but those who live in the country you are in. I have had some very interesting experiences from going to a teetotal vegan potluck dinner in New Zealand to discussing a host's trip to Antarctica or being invited to a Scandinavian party that could have been put on especially for me in Australia. I hope the adventure will continue.

Interests

I love travel, films, books, photography, knitting, dancing, hanging out with friends, having a good discussion, games, trivia-nights and people. I love learning new things and am passionate about gender issues and Human Rights. I also like cooking and have recently taken up a new hobby - horse riding.

Music, Movies & Books

Lots of types of music, particularly acoustic, retro hip hop, indie, reggae and some pop etc. I love TV with favorite programmes being, ER, The West Wing, Scrubs, The Office, and lots of other dramas and comedy shows. Favorite films are hard to pin down but most things by Richard Linklater, Krzysztov Kieslowski, Shawshank Redemption, It happened one night and many others. Some of my favorite books are, Middlesex, The Poisonwood Bible, Middlemarch and more.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I have done lots of things - though not sure what counts as amazing. I have traveled to India on my own as a 19 year old. I have stood on the edge of the most accessible active volcano in the world and watched it erupt above me. I have swum at sunset in beautiful waters in places as diverse as lovely Swedish lakes and the sea in Vanuatu the South Pacific. I have also walked on hot coals which was an experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help teach people to knit or do some cooking if needed. I can also teach people how to drink kava and the rudiments of Bislama the language of Vanuatu.

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Belize, Burundi, Canada, Costa Rica, Denmark, Fiji, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Honduras, India, Italy, Japan, Malawi, Malaysia, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Zambia

Countries I've Lived In

Guatemala, India, Spain, United Kingdom, Vanuatu

Join Couchsurfing to see Hanna's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile