Joris Depouillon

Gent, East-Flanders, Belgium

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joris’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French; learning German, Turkish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Green Sense Tour
  • Master
  • From Ghent
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Food Surplus Entrepreneurs Network: reducing food waste by supporting food surplus entrepreneurs to increase their impact and by spreading their innovations. Food


I am the man with the hat, the enthusiastic youth leader, the idealistic organizer, the butterfly catcher, always wearing colourful clothes. I want to change the world step by step.

In 2013-2014 I was travelling for 11 months on my Green Sense Tour ( and doing voluntary projects with sustainable entrepreneurs in Turkey, Morocco and Burkina Faso, I now started my own sustainable social business. It included many thousands of kilometers of hitchhiking, many nights of CouchSurfing or sleeping with random people I had met and many beautiful encounters.

Now I’m starting my own sustainable business. With the Food Surplus Entrepreneurs Network, we aim to reduce food waste by supporting food surplus entrepreneurs to increase their impact and by spreading their innovations. Food Surplus Entrepreneurs use or reduce food waste. Read more on


Live the golden rule: treat people the way you want to be treated.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Both I enjoyed the pleasure of surfing and hosting. I like going to CS-meetings and I talk to people about the wonderful concept of the organization.


My favourite way of travelling is the combination of hitchhiking and CouchSurfing. Of course you need a tent for emergencies. I enjoy the possibility of being who you want to be, the feeling of anonimity and how this slowly fades away every time you meet a new person.


sports: cycling (actively and passively), swimming
languages: ancient ones (Latin and Greek) as well as modern languages (French, English and a little German), turkish, but above all my mother tongue, Dutch.
politics, meeting interesting people, music, nature and how to maintain, human nature, alternative ways of living, butterflies, Sustainable entrepreneurship.

Music, Movies, and Books

Yevgueni, Novastar, Headphone, Muse, Placebo, Crowded House, the Killers, The Shins, Absynthe Minded, Tool, Gorki, Interpol, Silversun Pickups, The Gossip, Daan, Bart Peeters, buurman, Maximo Park, Black Box Revelation, Digitalism, Manu Chao...
Classical Music

J. F. Foer
Stefaan Brijs
G. G. Marquez
Harry Mulisch
John Irving
Arnon Grünberg
paulo coelho
Sandor marai
Alexandre Jardin

I enjoy talking to people, ask them about their favourite books and write this down on my long list.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-A near death experience in the Black Sea
-Walking the Lycian Way
- Travelling for 11 months almost entirely over land and sea

Teach, Learn, Share

- I know how to catch butterflies and determine which specie it is. Of course I free them afterwards.- I cook vegetarian food and get more skilled everyday.- I know Dutch, French and some Turkish. I like to teach language.- I play chess and like to teach it to people.- I can teach you the best way of transport: hitchhiking!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Turkey

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Joris’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups