Bev Wigney

Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Bev’s full profile. It’s free!


  • photographer - nature - mostly invertebrates
  • MA in English, and an Hon. B.A. in Art History
  • From Ottawa Valley region, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Travel around with my dog while I study natural history wherever I happen to be wandering.


I'm a photographer/writer/naturalist currently splitting my time between a home base in Ontario, an old house that I'm restoring in Nova Scotia, and winters in the southwest U.S. (mainly Arizona). My husband and I were very active hikers and canoeists. He died about four years ago after battling cancer for a year. Since then, I've spent winters traveling, camping and living in the southwest U.S. From spring through autumn, I'm in Ontario and also Nova Scotia where I'm currently trying to rescue a very old but formerly distinguished house that has been unoccupied for over a decade (in other words, it's quite a wreck!). Despite its many shortcomings, its a wonderful place surrounded by trees and a stream. When traveling, I like to spend time by rivers and the ocean, but also love the desert very much. I share my life and home a large Collie dogs (the "Lassie" type collie). I will be at my Nova Scotia house from around May to September 2013, so travelers to the Annapolis Valley area may touch base with me there.


Live in the moment -- that's really all we can count on.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Although I have a summer place in Nova Scotia, it's not really up to scratch for hosting people (embarrassingly so). Very primitive - no running water, it has composting toilet, etc... Two summers ago, I did host a CSer looking for a place to pitch a tent, and just recently hosted someone in a very modest guest room that I have fixed up. Can probably manage something similar this summer for a person(s) who is okay with really roughing it - maybe tent or car camping, or possibly a room in the house. Whatever, you must like dogs as there is a large one living here. If interested, message me and we'll figure out if a visit could work. I do like a couple of days notice if someone wants to visit. Otherwise, I am a reasonably good resource for info on the area. Message me if you would like info on travel in this part of Nova Scotia and I may be able to help.
Note: DOG FRIENDLY - I may be able to host those who are traveling with a *friendly* dog or two - especially if you are self-contained. My yard is mostly fenced and fairly safe for dogs.


One CSer camped here in 2010. I hosted another surfer in my house in 2011. Also met with and assisted a couchsurfer traveler to find a wwoofing position on a local organic farm. I travel a lot, but usually camp in remote areas, so have not stayed with any other CSers. Before the days of, my husbsnd and I did host email friends from Europe and the U.S. I still do meet up with email and blogger friends and host them at my place.


Nature, Photography, Biology, Art, Literature, Archaeology, Architecture.

Music, Movies, and Books

I play fiddle - mostly celtic or old time tunes.
Mostly books having to do with natural history. Most of what I read are field guides on flora and fauna. I don't listen to much music but do play several musical instruments -- just started learning to play the fiddle this winter. I like being outdoors listening to sounds in the natural world and appreciate others who like the same things.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Much of what I see through my camera lens are the most amazing stuff I've ever seen -- caterpillars molting, spiders building egg cases, dragonflies eating other insects. A lot of the geology of the PNW and southwest states blows me away.

Teach, Learn, Share

Enjoy playing music with others.
I can teach people about nature - flora and fauna and species biodiversity. I know a lot about invertebrates, especially insects. I'm a photographer who does a lot of work with macro photography of insects and spiders. Although I'm not involved in farming now, I used to keep a herd of dairy goats. I also used spin and dyes wool and other fibres. I have degrees in English and Art History and know quite a bit about architecture. I've built my own cordwood (stackwall buildings). I have canoed for about 20 years - flatwater paddling on lakes and rivers. I enjoy sharing the things that I know about the natural world and also like to learn from others who spend time outdoors in nature.

Countries I’ve Visited

United States

Countries I’ve Lived In


Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Bev’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups