Justin Van Der Horn's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • I am a master of academia ...a.k.a a student.
  • I'm currently studying International Relations and Enviro...
  • From Wyckof, NJ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Not to Worry!


I've been at one point and sometimes I still am: an environmental consultant, flower delivery boy, resident assistant for my university dorms, tutor, career center advisor, rower, fencer, mountain climber, resident hall 'Iron Chef', volunteer Emergency Medical Technician (EMT), writer for the school paper, founder of a non-profit organization, horticulturalist...
It's weird being asked to write all about you...
I'm a full time student.
I come from a big extended family.
I love to travel, try new foods, see new places, and meet new people.
Oh- and I don't smoke. That could be handy to know!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I haven't actually used CS yet because I recently heard about it. I hope to surf while I'm abroad this year and then HOST HOST HOST after!


I'm a newbie... so forgive me if I make some mistakes!


Rock Climbing
Acoustic Music
Rowing (crew)
Trying new foods! (and cooking)
Beaches, mountains, the outdoors in general! Love to camp, hike, bike, etc!
Exploring! (and getting lost...though that's a side effect not an interest)
Foreign cultures- I'm an international studies major!

  • writing
  • cooking
  • flowers
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • rowing
  • teaching
  • volunteering
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Fiction- Harry Potter naturally.
Acoustic music- Dave Matthews is a favorite
Alternative music- Andrew Bird is amazing!
Action movies- Jason Bourne, definitely my favorites!
Animated movies- I'm a sucker for Finding Nemo
Foreign Films- Jeux d'Enfants is a great one

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent 30 days mountaineering (hiking, camping, and climbing) in the Wind River mountains of Wyoming with the National Outdoor Leadership School (NOLS). It was possibly the most amazing and defining 30 days of my life and I must have been crazy to do it... and if that's the case, i'm ok with being crazy!

Teach, Learn, Share

I would LOVE to learn some words in the language of whatever country I surf in. There's nothing worse than wanting to be polite and engaging but only being able to ask "do you speak english?" (I speak some french too).

I also really like to cook and eat new foods so if you want to show me a local trick or two in the kitchen or when you visit me and would like to cook up a storm, let me know!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Czech Republic, Ecuador, France, Germany, Hungary, Kenya, Lithuania, Poland, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Justin’s full profile. It’s free!