Krista DAmato's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Krista’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 44 References 21 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Spanish
  • 31, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Living the life of nonconformity.
  • So much more to learn.
  • From Woodstock NY USA
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


Relax and enjoy the ride.


"I am large. I contain multitudes." Walt Whiman, Song of Myself

People often describe me as adventurous and outgoing. I’m usually up for anything and love trying new things as well as meeting new people. I get on just fine in a group of strangers as well as one-on-one. I also love the company I keep when I’m alone.
I like to try to stay active. My main hobbies are rock climbing, yoga and running but I’m down with just about any outdoor activity with the exception of disk golf; it’s just not my jam. This year I hope practice aerial silks and circus arts because as e.e. cummings once said, “damn everything but the circus.”
I love all forms of art including but not limited to, literature, photography, paintings, music, murals, graffiti, spoken word, screen prints, encaustics, sculpture, dance, film, comics, anything! Art galleries or shows of any kind are my jam. Live music and festivals are the best.
I am an English teacher by profession. I have taught 9th grade English in NY. I taught ESL to adults in California. I just finished a year abroad teaching English in South Korea. It was awesome. I would really love to teach in Turkey or South America.
I have never ridden a horse, though I would really like to. I want to learn to dance (really dance with a partner). I would like to learn more about Jazz music. I love the smell/sound of rain. I find idiosyncrasies endearing.


Find a path with heart.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I would like to meet and help out as many Couch Surfers as I can. I love meeting new people, hearing their stories and storing their peals of wisdom.


I couch surfed across the US, participated in many meet ups in NYC, hosted in NYC and Berkeley. Unfortunately, no one visited my small town in Korea. I met up with people in China, and the Philippines and now plan to do the same in Australia.


Climbing, snowboarding, scuba, reading, music, film, art, hiking, biking, swimming, eating, discussions, stars, working with people, teaching. Some goals of mine include: learning aerial silks, becoming fluent in another language, becoming a tea sommelier, and working in a bike shop.

  • arts
  • literature
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • running
  • shopping
  • comics
  • reading
  • music
  • live music
  • jazz
  • spoken word
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • snowboarding
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • golf
  • teaching

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Anything Wes Anderson, Guy Richie, Michel Gondry, Hayao Miyazaki,Kar Wai Wong, Gaspar Noé, and Jean-Pierre Jeunet.

Books: Fav authors are Haruki Murakami, J. D. Salenger, Henry Miller, and Khaled Hosseini

My music taste runs the gamut. I like everything from Brazillian, to classical, to African, to dubstep, to chillwave, to piano. I want to learn more about Jazz.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Everyday is amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn to walk on my hands.

I can teach you to cook some good food, improve your English, some yoga, or maybe take you climbing.

I'd like to think that in my job as a teacher I inspire and encourage people to believe in themselves.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, China, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Philippines, Puerto Rico, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, South Korea, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Krista’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups