Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 15 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Travelling
  • Ecology & Biodiversity, Film
  • From Christchurch
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to explore the world more in the next 12 months, especially Latin America where I look forward to being a minority, learning another language and meeting so many interesting people. And getting away from the familiar.

ABOUT ME

Well, I'm Michael and my most recent job was being a punter (boatman) on the Avon River in beautiful Christchurch hence the outfit in the picture. I'm not quite done with uni and it might still be a while until I throw my hat in the air because I want to explore other aspects of life first. I'm a gentle giant and shy at times but respectful and easy to get a long with.

PHILOSOPHY

Too many thoughts, too small a word limit.

Realizing that we're all made of the same stuff (even the rocks etc etc) and the implications of all that.

I've brought a book about philosophy with me do I'm subject to change.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've hosted more than I've been hosted but currently I'm hoping to surf again. I've mainly hosted people from Europe so far but had one awesome guy from the Pacific Islands which is where I am as I write this.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Being hosted
One ok. One a bit better. One AMAZING couchsurfing experience!
Also met a great guy for tea once.

Hosting
I've had mixed experiences but grateful for all of them.

Interests

Travelling. Experiencing the world. Film-making. Animals are great things! I love the smell of spring... Who doesn't like music?

  • animals
  • books
  • dining
  • traveling
  • music

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies. Music. Books. All great things really! I'm quite a fan of some classic movies as I love the mood they create. Rear Window is great as is Breakfast At Tiffany's. I intend on getting more up-to-date on some Disney classics and I am a big fan of Amelie. I'm pretty easy with music really. I like music you can listen to almost any time. I'm falling in love with 60s and 70s music. The Mamas and The Papas, The Hollies, The Beatles, Bob Dylan, Jefferson Airplane... heaps really! Oh and I LOVE Supertramp I haven't read many books in my time but will happily change that.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I once sold a blank piece of paper for $100. I think that might take the cake.

Proceeds went to charity

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm keen to share! I know a bit about New Zealand of course and after working as a punter I have more stories to share.

Would love to learn Spanish and hear others' stories.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My experiences, gratitude and whatever food I have on me.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cook Islands, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Michael’s full profile. It’s free!