Grace Co

Ruian, Zhejiang, China

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 9 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Teacher/Student
  • Linguist
  • From Portland, OR, Savannah, GA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me


to keep my windshied clean, so if the car breaks down at least i have a good view


Currently, I am an English teacher in Rui'an, ZheJiang, China. I live alone and have a couch to surf!

This is my prior about me section from 2009: In one fall swoop I decided to leave Portland and for my first time go on an adventure without a clear destination. In August, I finished school, left my business, sold all my belongings in an estate sale and packed the rest in my little old car and drove off. I knew that I always wanted to see New England and the SE states. I took two weeks to drive across the northern states, seeing national parks and monuments I had only seen pictures of, and I ended up visiting my friend on an amazing farm outside Brattleboro, VT. Two of my favorite parts of my road trip have been camping with Indian firefighters on the Crow Reservation in MT and camping with bison in the valley of the badlands. I love Vermont and have been very symbiotic with farmers I have been staying with. In the last three weeks on this farm, I have participated in fall harvests, haying the fields, slaughtering, and I even rode a draft horse bareback and fell off! While I don't want to leave this part of my adventure, I know there is so much more I still want to see and experience. I am interested in both experiencing cities like Charleston and Savannah and/or staying and working on farms. While I am excited to couch surf and meet new people, I would like to settle down and stay a while and have a couch of my own to offer!


The journey is the destination

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I couch surfed in US and landed in Savannah, Georgia, where I ended up moving in with my host Zola.


I had one wonderful experience couchsurfing in Savannah, GA. I ended up staying in Savannah for 8 months! My host was very inviting and informative...and above all else I made a friend.


Farming, antiques, auction houses, photography, making pies, and adventure!

Ok...I have a few life dreams too...I want to live on the ocean (warm climate) surf and learn about the ecosystems, I want to barrel race horses, I want to run a bed and breakfast serving local crafted beers, cheeses, veggies, etc., I want to own my own home and run a small CSA, I want to start my own business in the antique industry in Savannah, I want to own an genuine crank phonograph with horn and take it camping, and I'm sure there's tons more....

Music, Movies, and Books

My three current favorite artists are Frida, O'Keefe, and Nikki McClure. I love movies because they have so much power to transform and inspire one persons view of the world. I enjoy going to little old cinemas. Music is heartbeat in a home and I have quite a range of what pleases my ear. My tastes change with change in life, and right now I am experiencing so much for the first time! I love new experience.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing the birth of my goddaughter. a miracle really.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm learning the power of positivity. I want to be creative and find an "art" I love and live, so far this has been photography. In terms of teaching, I suppose my most marketable and teachable skill is Mandarin. I have also taught English both domestically and abroad. And I can certainly grow and preserve food, and I know a fair bit about animal husbandry. Oh, and I've now got a year of Sailing experience! I love getting on the water!

Join Couchsurfing to see Grace’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups