Logo orange

Jorge R.-Roda

Wanaka, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge R.-Roda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 28 Positive References
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, German, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Freelancer
  • Fine
  • From Palma de Mallorca, Spain
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Continuous non-stop learning longlife travelling living adventure experience

ABOUT ME

I'm a traveller, i need to do it to feel alive myself. I've been doing it since i was a baby, and the more i grow "old", the more i feel that i have to explore all the world. I love travelling cheap, and this webpage is giving me an example of how this could be possible. I do photography as a hobby, i have my own perspective about it. After a year in Innsbruck, Austria, where I learned how to enjoy a lot alpine and winter sports such as outdoor climbing, skiing, hiking, downhill biking, and just walking around the alps, a real paradise of the world, I came back the following winter to Volunteer at the 1st Youth Winter Olympic Games of the history. Time and job of my life. When finished, I got approval to take part at the Leonardo Da Vinci Programm working in Berlin, place that I've been living for 18 months. After some boring 9-5 mo-fri boring jobs, found my way freelancing as a Tour Guide and Photographer. I left Berlin to come back to Mallorca for christmas, and I'm starting my new adventure on the 15 of January. New Zealand is ON, so let's keep exploring!

PHILOSOPHY

Let's say that i make it step by step, but every step is a high mountain that has to be climbed. And when i finished, i see another one, and start climbing again. Is that what this question means?

(this is the first text I wrote, and I keep it as it is)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I consider, considered and will consider Couchsurfing a source of knowledge, information and good people. Thanks to CS, I've been able to meet increible people, make other people have incredible experiences together, try different foods, contact common friends and host, so as be hosted. My participation, in this stage of my life, is about sharing my knowledge with whoever wants to listen to it, either live or vía internet. We're worldwide!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Since 2008 I've been involved in many experiences with CS, although I would not consider myself an always hosting-requester on my trips. Thanks to my trips and travels, and also CS, I've met many friends that were living where I was travelling/had friends where I could stay.

Anyway, I've been hosted in Brussels, Breda, taken for a coffee with amazing tips in Amsterdam, me and my 4 friends were also hosted in Plzen, been hosting in Innsbruck, been a guide for CS visitors in Mallorca, been to a couple of international dinners in Mallorca too, been asking/sharing information in Groups and experiences, met my climbing group in Mallorca through CS, got mechanical advice through CS, been guiding people to show "my" Berlin, found my 2nd flat in Innsbruck with Couchsurfing... There's a lot of them! And they'll be more, for sure!

Interests

Still image is my weakness, on the good meaning of the word. Couple of years ago, got the CANON AE-1 from my father and switched my 'lens' from digital to analog. Since then, Analog photography has been my artistic way of expression, and sometimes it can last up to 6 months to finish the 36 pictures that my films usually contain. You can see some of my works here: www.flickr.com/jorgeroda . Besides, I've got a Canon EOS 400D that I actually use for time-lapse photography and 50mm portraits (this lens is great). I combine techniques, improvise positions and like to try to get my own works from there on. I'm a fan of video edition on my own scale, videos are an interesting perspective but have to be treated good.

Besides image, I love climbing, I'm focused on getting back to it in NZ. Psicobloc (deep water solo) it's one of the crazyiest things I've ever tried, and since I've lived in Innsbruck every single mountain-related sport interests me a lot. I'm also a freeride skier, tenis player and technology fan.

Since the last year I've been into yoga and I practice as often as I can.

Music, Movies & Books

I'm a soap-serie watcher. Lover of 20-min chapter before going to bed, I'm also upto 40-min ones if I don't have to wake up early! Breaking Bad, Lost, HIMYM, Big Bang Theory, Entourage, Californication, Carnivale, Black Mirror... There's plenty of them, and for me they're all great!

Movies and books are my pending on my list, I guess It's not my time yet! Movies keep away a lot of time that I could spend in something productive (mainly, my position is not extreme) and books it really need to be the time that I have time while travelling by train, or something similar!

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Find hot outdoor thermal springs for free and warm acomodation in the Bulgarian/Greek mountains after being soaking wet caught on a storm while hitchiking in the night.

Teach, Learn, Share

This section is new! I can teach:
- Photography (Analog/digital)
- Photo edition (Photoshop)
- Touristic cultural awareness
- I can listen! And give advice
- Ways of cheap travelling
- Ways of cheap/free living
- (i'll think about more)
- Slacklining
- Climbing
- Spanish/International cooking (some of them :))

Countries I've Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Senegal, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Austria, Germany, Ireland, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Jorge R.-Roda's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile