Logo orange

Daniel LeClerc

Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Latin; learning Italian
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Consultant
  • College Degree
  • From Andover, MA
  • Profile 55% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

I want to swim on every continent (so far I have N. America, Europe, and Africa)

ABOUT ME

I am 22 and recently graduated college in Atlanta, Georgia and will be beginning work in January. After my study abroad in Rome last year, I realized the joy of travel and have made it my personal goal to go everywhere I can and experience the world. I traveled to approximately 20 countries last year and am currently on a new European adventure this fall before I have to start work. I hope to work abroad in the future and continue to see new places.

PHILOSOPHY

"Try everything once" As long as it isn't something that will have negative lasting effects, you should go ahead and do it. Often the best things start off as the craziest ideas.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am just beginning, but would like to couchsurf/host any surfers looking for a place in Atlanta, GA, USA!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Although I am new to the website, I have several friends who host/surf and have helped them host CouchSurfers. I have traveled throughout the US and Europe relying on my network of friends, but I think it is time to expand that network and visit some of the other couches this world has to offer!

Interests

(Obviously) I love to travel! Currently I am on a 5 week trip from Morocco to Budapest, with several stops along the way. I love being out in the sun and wandering aimlessly throughout heavily-touristic cities.

I love watching sports (and participating!) especially Baseball, US Football, and Hockey.

Reading is a must, and it goes well with travel!

I learned some Italian while studying in Rome, but hope to improve and maybe even become fluent.

I am very techno-savvy and like to acquire and play with the latest gadgets, especially computers. I have built several computers and even replaced my laptop screen (that was an experience!).

Music, Movies & Books

Books: My favorite authors: Vonnegut, Oscar Wilde, Ayn Rand, F. Scott Fitzgerald. I like just about anything written by any of these authors. Additionally I like books about dystopias (1984, Brave New World, etc.) and Bildungsromans (coming of age books - Catcher in the Rye et al.)

My musical tastes are extremely varied and I am willing to listen to almost anything - I used to dislike rap and country, but that has changed and my iPod has a lot of rap and (a little) country now!

My taste in movies is similar to my taste in books - I really like movies that make you think or challenge some ideal. I <3 Huckabees, V for Vendetta, and The Goonies are all among my favorites.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

The best trip of my life (yet) was the 24 day trip around Europe last spring. I left from Rome, went through Venice, Ljubljana, Zagreb, Vienna, Bratislava, Budapest, Linz, Dresden, Berlin, Brussels, and Amsterdam. Much of the time was spent on my own meeting people on trains etc. and only 10 days was spent with people I previously knew. I learned an incredible amount about myself and people from Europe and the entire world.

Teach, Learn, Share

Although I cannot think of a particular skill to share, I think that I have a unique perspective on life, travel, and the world. I have many unusual experiences to share and hope to have the chance to!

Countries I've Visited

United States

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile