Gaëtan de Briey's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gaëtan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References
  • Fluent in French; learning Dutch, English, Spanish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student in Business Administration at the Louvain School ...
  • Management Sciences
  • From I'm born in Paris but I grew up in Brussels
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Discover the world & its people through couchsurfing!

ABOUT ME

I'm a 22 years old guy, well anchored in its time and very hungry to discover the world around! One of my favourite hobby is travelling to confront myself to new cultures, people, landscapes etc.

What concerns my own personnality, I consider myself as being a very sociable kind of person, as I am always very keen in meeting new poeple from any backgrounds. As a matter of illustration, it happened to me to travel for 5 days in North Chile with a totally unknown guy I had just meet in the bus because I got along with him!

In addition, I am dynamic, smiling, rather optimistic than pessimistic and have many projects in mind!

Regarding my academic backgroung, I'm finishing my degree in Business at the Louvain School of Management (LSM) by a very international year! Indeed, I applied for a Program called Interanational Business, which gives me the opportunity to spend one year abroad; 6 months on exchange in a foreign business school, followed by 6 months internship in a foreign company both outside of Europe. That is for me the perfect way to crown my degree!

PHILOSOPHY

CARPE DIEM

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

So far, I didn't use that much couchsurfing. I started using it when I was travelling around in South America but with not much experience. On the one hand I was sending couch requests at rather short notice before my arrival in a place and on the other hand, I was often without Internet connection as I was travelling as a bagpacker ! However, I received many positive answers but most of the time too late!

However, in La Paz (Bolivia) I've been to a Couchsurfing house party and it was AWESOME (delicious BBQ, cocktails...) ! We were around 25 people from all around the world and had a great time sharing experiences, having fun etc. Then we moved all togheter to the so-called TETECO, a crazy bar downtown!

Great 1st CouchSurfing Experience!

Interests

> Social project
Since 5 years now, I'm involved in the "Matle Assistance" organization and with 11 other young volunteers, we organize a yearly summer camp in Belgium for childrens in needs, under the protection of the Lawyer. This project is quite challenging because the personal background of those children is hard and gaining their respect is not always an easy-task but it is indescriptible to tell how much they bring to me... It is a lesson of humility and I'm proud to be part of such a great advanture...

> Art
I'm very into Photography (both analog and digital), which is very usefull when one of your favourite hobby is travelling around the world!

I was very into painting but my productivity dropped a lot when I started my university degree but I'm pretty sure I will catch up soon because it is one of the thing I like the most!

I've been playing in a couples of Theatre role plays to raise funds for the social project I'm involved in (see above). Jumping in the spotlights in front of an audience of 400 people is a very particular feeling!

Cooking is for my one of the greatest art on Earth and I like it so much! Inventing my own recipies is my speciality!!!

> Sports

I like many kind of sports but the my favourite ones are TENNIS, SURF, SKI, MOUNTAIN BIKE and SWIMMING !

> Environmental Issues
In a very cliché way, I would say that "Our planet is suffering human behaviours ruled by the seek for profits at all cost whatever the consequences.." To some extent it is true and we have to take up many challenges. I find this fascinating!

  • arts
  • photography
  • illustrations
  • cooking
  • cocktails
  • bbq
  • partying
  • traveling
  • painting
  • cycling
  • camping
  • skiing
  • sports
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • business
  • law

Music, Movies, and Books

Favourite movies:

Into the wild - Shindler's List - La Grande Vadrouille - Lord of War - The boy in the stripped pyjamas -and many others..

Music: many kind of music (from classic to Rock to Rap...)

Eddy Vedder (into the wild!) - The kooks - Francis Cabrel - Black Art White

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

A one week trip in the Peruvian Jungle in the middle of a Natural Reserve aboard a pirogue!

Teach, Learn, Share

Cooking!

Countries I’ve Visited

Greenland, Mauritius, South Africa, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Canada, Peru

Join Couchsurfing to see Gaëtan’s full profile. It’s free!