Chris Bachmann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 95% response rate
  • Last login about 16 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.


  • 104 references 72 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German; learning Portuguese
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • German online teacher and former fitness trainer/sales an...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

For meetups please send me a message here and on WhatsApp +4915906039215

Please send your request in English, German, French or Portuguese.

my son is staying sometimes with me, so i cant promise to host (but please send your request anyway!)

in Portugal since 2020
lived 5 years in New Zealand
lived 5 years in Laos/Thailand
lived 3 years in Paris
left Germany 2007
traveled 54 countries
speaking English, French, and German, started Portuguese

I have been living in Albufeira/Portugal since 2020. I have a small, light, tidy apartment 500m from the Oura beach and close to the strip. You will have your own room with a queen size bed and with a balcony with a garden view. I work from home teaching German but feel free to join my office with fiber internet or head out and explore the area - I can surely give suggestions. I try to hang out as much as time allows but am usually free after 8 pm. I love cooking at home, feel free to cook for us or we cook together, maybe something you cook very well? I am avoiding meat but do exceptions. I do drink wine or beer occasionally - feel free to bring some. Happy to host you and excited to hear your stories!

visited 54 states (20.4%)Create your own visited map of The World

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I started Couchsurfing in 2010 and it surely changed my life. I am still overwhelmed by people who are so open, giving, humble, relaxed, and passionate about traveling. We do share most values which make us immediate friends. I became like them. Learned how to travel on a low budget. How to be a minimalist. How to enjoy the small things in life but see the big picture. How to lower my judgments and see everyone's strengths and not weaknesses

Life is short. We must find those people and moments that enrich our lives forever. We must choose quality and face time over endless (screen) distractions. So let's meet up and tell our stories and dreams.


sport, fitness, crossfit, long distance running, photography, cooking, healthy living

  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • triathlon
  • running
  • coach
  • crossfit
  • movies
  • traveling
  • sports
  • soccer
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Film: eg. Gladiator, 7 pounds, 6th sense, Lords of the rings, Cruel intentions, I am legend, Jerry Maguire
Musik: Mix of pop/rock/mainstream and EDM - Michael Jackson, Madonna, Laura Pausini, Silbermond, Xavier Naidoo, Juli, Josh Groban, Andrea Boccelli, Whitney Houston, Black Eyed Peas, Justin Timberlake, Timbaland

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I ran 30+ marathons/ultramarathons (100k in 12h), attended several times the CrossFit open, did the Transalp, lived in 7 countries, I speak 4 languages, i traveled to 54 countries.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Austria, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Myanmar, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Czech Republic, France, Germany, Laos, New Zealand, Portugal, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile.

My Groups