Manon Hartmans

Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Manon’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French, Spanish; learning German, Italian, Portuguese
  • 44, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Full-time traveller
  • Studied speechtherapy and 2 years of interpreter Spanish
  • From Born in The Hague but raised in a village near Rotterdam
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To make this world a better place by enjoying life in a respectfull way towards mother nature, and other living beings. Dancing, giving Free Hugs


I want to enjoy life as much as possible.
I love to dance, to cook nice vegetarian meals, I loved my job as an project-leader at a cycle-courier project for people who have to re-integrate to work but I am now travelling around the world and happy too, I enjoy searching beautiful seashells, I really like chocolate and making my own bonbons out of it, or making ice-cream, or smoothies, or....Hhmmm!
But I hate smoking, drugs and alcohol.
I enjoy talking, traveling, especially hitch-hiking
I give Free Hugs and spread positive energy in order to make this world a better place.
I try to live as much as possible with respect to mother nature (I eat vegetarian, re-use materials, try to minimize consuming, recycle my waste (paper, glass, plastic, organic), I hitch-hike, etc)But once a year I do take the plane to Ireland to help out a friend with the organization at a set-dance festival in Castletown.
I give dance workshops mostly in France, but also in The Netherlands, Belgium, Italy and Spain. (Mazurka, Irregular Walses, Irish set dancing and step dancing)
I did singing classes and I am learning to play the clarinet.


LIFE: The more you put in, the more you get out.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Unfortunately from half May 2011 on I won't be able to host couchsurfers anymore as I won't have a home except from my campervan.I will be travelling around in Spain, France and Portugal.And when I'm traveling and others share their house with me I always like to prepare a nice meal and make a healthy breakfast with juice or smoothie. If possible I like to participate in their daily occupation or hobby and give a helping hand (WWooF-ing= willing workers on organic farms)


I couch-surfed in Cataluña at 4 different places. Had a great time with each and every one of the people I met.It's a bit like hitch-hiking and I love it.With a couple that hosted me, we discovered we already met, without knowing, at the folk festival in Gennetines (France)where I give dance workshops. Because of Couch Surfing I came back again and gave a workshop in May 2010 at their place.
I surfed couches in Australia, Spain, Italy and my own country, The Netherlands.


My dog: Imagina (unfortunately she passed away)
Dancing, dancing, dancing!
Vegetarian meals.
Taking action on realizing my self-sufficient permaculture mosaic village without pollution from traffic, smoke, alcohol nor drugs, in the south of Spain or Portugal.(warm climate)
Meeting people.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movie: Pay it forward
Music: "Love is all" from Roger Glover
Folk music
Book: Charlie and the chocolate factory ;-)
Nonviolent communication by Marshall Rosenberg

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Each and every day,.... open your eyes and your heart and it's there!

Teach, Learn, Share

What I can teach is:
- positivity is a choice, just do it and take each other to a higher level.
- My vision on taking good care of one-self
- Cooking vegetarian meals
- Dancing to Irish and French folk-music
- Spanish and Dutch and having conversations in English

What I would like to learn:
-Everything I need to know to build my eco self sustainable village in Spain/Italy from how to grow my vegetables to how to build a house out of the ruins that are left, how to build my water supply, what the things are I have to confront with government and administration, and everything else you can think of what I might need to know about.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Costa Rica, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, New Zealand, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Manon’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups