Hilde Van Vlaenderen's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hilde’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, French
  • 59, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Social scientist
  • Phd in social psychology
  • From Belgium
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi I am a woman of 58 years old. I live with my family (husband and 2 studying daughters) in Melun a small town about 40 km from Paris, which is easily reachable by train. I work as a social consultant for an environmental consulting company in the UK. I conduct social impact studies and other related studies for mining and other projects all over the world. I was born and grew up in Belgium. I then moved to South Africa where I worked as a university professor for several years. I also spent some time in Tanzania and in Madagascar. I spent about 25 years in Africa before coming to France. I have travelled widely in Africa and the world in general and enjoy meeting people and learning about other cultures and the way people make sense of their social and natural environment. I have friends in different parts of the world which I enjoy. My family is also very keen on meeting people from other cultures and sharing experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on couchsurf because I like meeting people from different backgrounds, ages and cultures. I enjoy sharing experiences and providing people witj lodging and help with their travels. I also like staying with people and experience their lifestyles

Interests

I enjoy walking, reading, movies, cooking, gardening, drawing

  • arts
  • environment
  • dining
  • cooking
  • walking
  • gardening
  • movies
  • reading
  • socializing
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • teaching
  • medicine

Music, Movies, and Books

I like hard rock such as Linking Park, Red hot Chilli Peppers, Bastille, Doors, etc.
I love films of Wes Anderson and Jim Jarmush

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Meeting with Mandela

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn about art, drawing painting, alternative medicine
Share about cooking
Teach English, research methods

What I Can Share with Hosts

I have travelled to more than 50 countries and can share my experiences. I can share music, films, food, walks, talks

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Armenia, Austria, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Congo, Croatia, Czech Republic, Côte d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Monaco, Morocco, Mozambique, Netherlands, Sierra Leone, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Tanzania, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, England, France, Greece, Madagascar, South Africa, Tanzania

Join Couchsurfing to see Hilde’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups