Blake and Tamara Bouchard's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake and Tamara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Korean
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2015
  • Just completing 2 years of ESL teaching in South Korea
  • Both university educated, Tamara in Psychology, and Blake...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

Shortly after getting married we moved across the world to teach English in Korean public schools. During that time we have traveled extensively around Korea as well as visited a couple of the nearby countries. We now find ourselves at the end of our second contract with five months of more or less free time before we return to University in Canada.

Aside from teaching ESL one or both of us have at one time or another been a landscaper, pulp mill worker, logger, life skills instructor, youth coordinator, treaty analyst, consultant, volunteer mentor, and researcher.

We are an active couple who love spending time outside and have never been that interested in TV or computer games. We both like meeting and learning about new people, but can be a little shy and are at our best one-on-one or in small groups.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We are on couchsurfing largely because many of our friends and family have shared the amazing experiences they have had both hosting and surfing. When we decided to travel for several months after completing contracts in Korea it was something that we decided we wanted to try.

Interests

Reading, outdoors, hiking, history (for Blake), psychology and creative expression (for Tamara), canoes and kayaks, eating new foods, writing, social justice, volunteering ... and it goes on.

  • writing
  • instructor
  • reading
  • tv
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • history
  • psychology
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

We are both fans of country music and oldies, but listen to most other genres as well.

Books - we love them!

Blake: historical fiction
Tamara: The Glass Castle, Room, Lullabies for Little Criminals, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, Tattoos on the Heart, and more.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Slept in a quinzee (snow house) at minus forty degrees Celcius (Blake NOT Tamara ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

We would love to share experiences, perhaps a card game or favourite recipe, and certainly new adventures, whatever they may be.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Indonesia, Mongolia

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, South Korea

Join Couchsurfing to see Blake and Tamara’s full profile. It’s free!