Michal Smolík's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 97% response rate
  • Last login about 6 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michal’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 6 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English, Slovak; learning Dutch, German
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • student
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm a computer science student, HUGE history nerd and a geek in general. I haven't traveled much but I'm about to change it. I like to meet new people, just not too much at a time, I'm terrible at remembering names... I like to take my time to know someone, but I try to be open and kind to others.

I also bring my plush travel cow Saška along, she is better traveled than me! She even has her own instagram!
https://www.instagram.com/saska_the_cow/

If you want to stay in my place, please send me a song in your native language ;) I will reject any requests without it
PHILOSOPHY

Do what you want to do as long as you're not hurting anybody. That's that.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to travel (duh) on low-ish budget and get to know other interesting people. And to represent Slovakia positively!

Interests

Military history, animals, science, computers, video games, board games (tabletop RPGs da best!), books, movies... pretty much everything!

I am a beginner rapier and longsword fencer and can play bass and guitar somewhat decently. (Can't sing very well though. Shame. I like to sing).

  • animals
  • books
  • singing
  • swing dancing
  • movies
  • video games
  • board games
  • traveling
  • guitar
  • camping
  • computer science
  • history
  • mathematics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC

Many many kinds, from jazz/swing through metal/classic rock to some electronic genres. And classic music is cool too. Only dancing to swing though.

MOVIES

Sci-fi and British comedies preferably but everything is fine, besides of romantic movies and horrors. I don't like those. And I never turn down a decent action movie...

BOOKS

Mainly fantasy (Most enjoyed: the Witcher), but I can read about everything. Also read many popular science and history books. Right now I don't have time for reading, but I am looking forward to the time I will.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

At a summer camp, animators jokingly tasked us with bringing them a goat. We did. Its name was Lisa.
(Of course we brought it with owner's permission and returned it back home safely).

I also petted a wild buck.

And I broke into my kindergarten to remember the good stuff. It's much cooler place now, I'm a bit salty about that. And don't worry, I didn't break anything.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach a bit about history (oh, so much history, once I get started it's very hard to stop) and maybe computers which are areas of my hobby expertise. I am supposedly good at math too.

I like to learn local customs, visit historical places and museums. I would also love to eat at least one local dish in every city I visit.

I can share Slovak songs (I like to bring my guitar with me) and maybe some home-baked cakes (If I don't eat them too soon).

What I Can Share with Hosts

I like to bring delicious Slovak sweets! And my company is fun, I've been told...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Netherlands, Poland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, Slovakia

Join Couchsurfing to see Michal’s full profile. It’s free!