Wai Mun Soh's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wai Mun’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English, Malay, Thai, Yue (Cantonese); learning Burmese, German
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Cultural Orientation Trainer in an NGO
  • Bachelor of Languages and Linguistics
  • From Kuala Lumpur, Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Currently learning German and living in Berlin. The first month here was difficult when clashes of culture and way of life happen. Which I thought it could never happen to me. Now I am convince that no matter how much you travel, sometimes you will still have cultural shocks. The only difference is the methods of overcoming it will be slightly easier and more positive even with challenges. Falling in love with Berlin and the people that I met along the way every day. It had taught me so much. I learn to love Malaysia and Asia even more by travelling out of the continent. It's funny but through different lenses and conquering new horizons , they test my limit, patience, personalities and building on top of what I already have.

I enjoy meeting people and listen to their stories and sharing experiences with each other. Have been backpacking in several South East Asian countries. Though I have not been to all of them, Thailand still remain my favorite and I go back often to meet my Thai friends, try some authentic Thai food and to see one of the most beautiful islands in the world.

As a Cultural Orientation Trainer, I work with refugees and some of the best colleagues. The refugees are mostly from Myanmar and I got to learn basic Burmese from them after spending a lot of time together. Some of our refugees also come from China, Middle Eastern and African countries. By far, this is one of the job that thought a lot about humanity, humbleness, miracles, strengths, culture and children.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been hearing about couchsurfing since several years ago. This is one of the amazing way to meet more locals whenever I am travelling or start a new life in a new country.

Interests

Travelling , learning a different language, meeting people and I would like to gain new interest during my time around Europe e.g. cooking, baking, take care of horses, work in a farm and orchard.

  • horses
  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • backpacking
  • swimming
  • languages
  • solo travel

Music, Movies, and Books

Indie, classical, Jazz, hard rock, opera, Broadway, musical

Gone Girl, Mood Indigo, The Hunt, Like Father Like Son (Japanese), Howl's Moving Castle, Spirited Away, Birdman, Django Unchained, Life of Pi, Ex-Machina,
Finding Nemo

I don't have a preference for books. I am open to different ideas and stories.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Solo travel by land from Hong Kong to Mongolia.

Jump off the cliff for the very first time.

Swim with black tip reef sharks.

Eat fried grasshoppers in Thailand and Canbodia.

Watching sunset over an old ruin castle.

Clean and pick horse hooves and being bug by one. ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

Sorry, I do not know how to impress you. ;( I don't specialize in anything nor I could do a little bit of everything. But I could share a little bit of something...perhaps bits and pieces of life. I don't dance but I would like to learn. I can't cook like a chef but if you are up for an experiment, we'll create something different . I am an omnivore but occasionally enjoy being a herbivore too. I don't travel like Indiana Jones or Nomadic Matt but I could give you some travelling tips in Asia. I do not know too much about European films which I hope you could share more with me and I could tell you more about Asian films. But I really like Miyazaki film though I couldn't name every single character from his films accurately. I could remember memories in life so clearly. Had I been a good painter, I will be able to paint it exactly. But I couldn't remember characters and people's name.

What I Can Share with Hosts

As mentioned above ;) Or languages and cooking salty, spicy Chinese/Asian beansprout with oyster sauce, stir fry noodles, curry. Baking brownies, bread, ginger cookies and lentil nut loaf bread.

Countries I’ve Visited

Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Ireland, Mongolia, Myanmar, Philippines, Poland, Singapore, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Wai Mun’s full profile. It’s free!