Alberto Di Troia's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Writer/Director/Bookseller
  • Bachelor of Fine Arts (Film & Television), Victorian ...
  • From Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
  • Profile 80% complete

About Me

I grew up in Adelaide, South Australia but now I live in Melbourne, Victoria where I recently graduated from studying Film & TV at the Victorian College of the Arts. At the moment I'm staying in a share house with four friends and a possum that lives in the roof and makes a lot of noise when it's angry!

I really love and live for writing & directing movies and tv and theatre (as well as watching them). My last short film was a dark comedy about a murderous Italian mama with a dark secret and I usually have a few projects on the go at any one time - at the moment I'm working on a play about how we use pop music to connect with each other and a tv show about a lonely YouTube celebrity with a scandalous past.

To help pay the bills (who knew, filmmaking wasn't all glamour) I work part time pushing books at Readings, a famous Melbourne bookstore. I used to work in post-production (assistant editing commercials and movies) but I stopped to give a bit more time to my own projects.

I'm heading to Japan in Jan/Feb 2016 with my partner Peter (also a filmmaker) for a long-awaited exploration of this beautiful country. We're both relaxed, curious, adventurous, friendly, open, and respectful people with a passion for travel.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Pete and I are really hoping to meet new friends and experience Japan from a local's perspective in Jan/Feb 2017!

Interests

  • writing
  • books
  • theater
  • dancing
  • japanese food
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • karaoke
  • art history
  • sightseeing
  • filmmaking
  • films
  • nature
  • dance
  • theatre
  • pop music
  • comic books
  • pop culture
  • walks
  • hikes

Music, Movies, and Books

The last great film I saw was 'Toni Erdmann,' a three hour German comedy about a father who goes to visit his daughter in Romania and plays a series of practical jokes on her. The final scene set at a naked birthday party is one of the best I've ever seen (it's a long story - literally).

The last great book I read was 'Black Hole' by Charles Burns. It's a really weird, trippy graphic novel about a group of teenagers who contract an STD that gives them strange deformities, like a second mouth or a cat face...

The last great piece of music I listened to was... Britney Spears' new album - no seriously! It's her masterpiece! Otherwise I've also been enjoying Frank Ocean's new album - worth the wait.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I recently attended the world premiere of my last short film at a festival in the famous Grauman's Chinese Theatre off Hollywood Boulevard in LA - a very special experience. My producer, who came with me, met her current partner during the trip and they are now expecting a baby together! Which is even more special.

To make that short film I had to assemble a fantastic team of volunteers, rent an entire house to turn into a set for the week, create an authentic Italian garden from scratch in the backyard (complete with a grave underneath it), convince everyone to work with a live boa constrictor for a day, wrangle a large group of old Italian lady extras, feed 30 people for five days and record a score with a live jazz band. Yikes!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a writer and really know my English, so I can definitely help out if you're learning the language, need anything written or transcribed or just want to practise! I'm also handy with cameras of most kinds, and if you have any tech video problems I can probably help.

Pete plays piano and I play guitar and piano, so we're also happy to serenade you (probably badly).

We're both very knowledgeable when it comes to pop culture and we're very happy to talk recommendations! We're also both fantastic cooks and would be very happy to prepare a few dinners for you, and give you a taste of Australian cuisine (whatever that is).

Most of all we're really open and enthusiastic about new experiences, and we'd like to bring a real willingness to learn from our surroundings and try new things. We hope we can offer you a couple of new friends! (awww)

Countries I’ve Visited

England, India, Italy, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia

Join Couchsurfing to see Alberto’s full profile. It’s free!