Melanie  Allison's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student & Traveler
  • Pittwater High School
  • From Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Work out how to do a cycling trip... maybe around Scotland... or from Denmark to Italy. Maybe both?

ABOUT ME

An Australian gal from Sydney who recently obtained her 2 year working permit and moved to Brighton in the UK.
I live and work in a small hostel as a manager by day and pull beers in a pub by night. I also sometimes steam milk for coffees in a local vegan cafe. But it doesn't feel like I have 3 jobs :)
I like learning new things, meeting new people and eating lots of food (I'll eat anything as long as it's vegan, I cook weird food like vegetables)

PHILOSOPHY

Do what makes you happy

Treat others how you wish to be treated, everything positive you can do for someone else will turn into something positive for you :)

Everyone and everything teaches you a lesson

Carpe Diem WOO!

Minimalistic living, simple happiness
Epicurus, Fight Club, Into the Wild

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To make some new friends all around the world to hopefully keep in touch with so I can visit them and have them visit me as well!!!

It's so much fun meeting people from couch surfing and becoming friends, everyone can teach you something :D the experiences I've had so far have been so positive and fun, it's so awesome meeting strangers and becoming friends in 5 seconds. I can't wait to host people in my home back in the most beautiful area of Sydney and show them the kindness they have shown me. So message me (whenever I'm back in Sydney) book flights (unfortunately very expensive because Sydney is very far away) and come visit! I'll be waiting (with food, and a long list of fun activities for us)

ALSO - I am very respectful of people's homes. Time is so valuable, so for someone to take the time to share their home with a stranger is really beautiful and I would be very appreciative of that. I am also very neat and tidy, I will always leave a space as I found it (maybe even cleaner) and I always treat others how I wish to be treated, and I don't like being treated badly so you don't have to worry :)

Interests

The little things in life, I'm easy to please...
Cooking, eating, hiking (but I have bad knees :'() swimming, animals (I will take your dog for a walk), reading, new food discoveries, long drives, fresh air, earthships, traveling new places, gardening, bruschetta, Epicurus, snorkeling, basic yoga, photography, making new friends, clouds, chocolate, the beach, fruit, vegetables, canyoning, floating, appreciating nature, cake, watching movies, sustainability, partying, recycling, sleeping, learning new German words, stars, anything really!

Dislikes: laundry, when things leak in my backpack, mosquitos, sunburn, lack of food, when people throw their rubbish on the ground, when I forget my drink bottle and get thirsty

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies:
Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit, Game of Thrones, anything Disney (Pocahontas, Lion King, Mulan, Frozen, Tarzan) Into the Wild (IM SUPERTRAMP!!!), The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Titanic, Forest Gump, Fight Club, Catch me if you can, The Grand Budapest Hotel, Star Trek, Xmen, Batman (nerd for superhero movies) Sweeney Todd, Cowspiracy, Anything David Attenborough, anything Tim Burton (gotta be one of the coolest movie makers ever), The Sound of Music, Billabong Odyssey,
Music:
Will generally listen to a big mix of just about anything including really bad music :D
Some things I've listened to recently on Spotify... Tame Impala, Alt-J, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Flume, Bon Iver, Dope Lemon, King Gizzard, Hans Zimmer, James Horner, The Avalanches, Childish Gambino, D.D Dumbo, some classic 80s bangers, Jack Garret, The Prodigy, The Dø, the list goes on...
Books;
Chuck Palahniuk, Russel Brand, Jack London, Jack Kerouac, Hunter S Thompson, John Krakauer, the blog "wait but why", Alan Watts, Alain de Botton, a good auto biography, always open to suggestions, my reading list is always growing beyond the pace of my reading

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Dropped my phone in the toilet on 2 separate occasions and it still works fine

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach people to leave the world in a better way than how they found it... I can also teach you how to make the best bruschetta in the world

Learn new German words, about different cultures, alternative ways of living, how to grow vegetables, how to maintain a bike...... Endless things to add

Share food, banter, couches, jumpers

What I Can Share with Hosts

Funny stories, vegan cooking, banter, time, conversation, a positive attitude and appreciation of life

I can also teach you some Aussie slang if you are interested in being as weird as us :D bloody oath!!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Northern Ireland, Poland, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vanuatu, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, England, Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Melanie ’s full profile. It’s free!