Irena Tavčar's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 23 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Irena’s full profile.

Overview

  • 7 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Slovene, Spanish; learning German, Serbo-Croatian
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • none yet
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I AM NOT IN SLOVENIA AT THIS VERY MOMENT. ;)
I'm an easy-going person who is always looking forward to new adventures. I wouldn't call myself talented for anything in particular, but am not afraid of trying new things and new opportunities are for me a joyful challenge. I really enjoy spending time actively in the nature, especially in the mountains. I am a scout since I have been little that is why tent is my second home. Knowledge is one of my most important values. Even though I am well aware that hard work brings success, I am more than happy to spend some time by the seaside, just lying on the beach, reading good books and eating delicious food.
A bright sunny day, which I can share with positive people is what makes me happy.
I am fond of meeting new people and discovering different cultures.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

-meeting new people
-having friends all over the world
-some help and advice during travelling
-discovering the true local culture
-the ability to show others my beautiful country
-to spare some money
-sharing memories with people all around the world
- to have more lively travelling experience (and offering one to you!)
-to lose stereotypes about other countries and different people
-to gain respect for other cultures

Interests

I would hardly find an activity that I wouldn't be interested in, but there are definitely few areas that I am most fond of. My biggest passion is dancing!
Sport is not really my cup of tea, but I used to train basketball and athletics. Nowadays I am more into rollerblading and mountaineering. Even though I am a bit afraid of heights, adrenaline sports are something I enjoy.
I am a quite active scouts leader in our town that is why scouts represent most of my free time. I enjoy working with young people and helping them, guiding them. I think that being a scout means a way of life.
Of course one of my passions is also travelling, but I haven't travelled much yet.
As a Medical student I dedicate a lot of my time to studying of course. I want to help people , but my primary reason to study medicine is that I want to be useful for the humanity and to be able to say in my 80's that I did some good things for people. That would make my life worth living.

  • culture
  • books
  • singing
  • folklore
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • survival
  • music
  • guitar
  • mountaineering
  • snowboarding
  • sports
  • basketball
  • medicine
  • tourism
  • beaches
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: I am listening to everything, from punk rock to jazz. Music means whole world to me, it's a kind of meditation.

Movies: I like quite a lot of movies, except action movies, I hate cars and guns in them. I appreciate quality movies that convey a meaningful message. My favourite genres are history, adventure, drama and sometimes also fantasy. I am a huge fan of Lotr and Harry Potter.

Books: Because I study quite a lot I put books aside. I used to read much more than I do nowadays, but summer holidays are the time I read the most. My favourites are: The curious incident of the dog in the night time (Mark Haddon), Elsewhere (by Gabrielle Zevin), The elegance of the hedgehog (Muriel Barbery) and a definite Crime and Punishment ( Fyodor Dostoyevsky).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Only one?! :D

If I have to point out one, I'd say that it is definitely finishing the golden DofE's award. So many experiences, memories, friends, good time and a personal challenge. I can say that I am proud of it. And in last two years I've been dancing a lot. Swing dance is my passion but i also enjoy latin american and standard dances.

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: I can teach you some English, if you are a starter. I also know lace making - it is a tradition in Slovenia and if you want to try I am here for you. I have some survival skills which I have learned at scouts - from lighting a fire, building a shelter, making knots, basic first aid, pitching a tent,... Otherwise, as I have already said - I am not a talented person, I am more the general one (I can do lots of things, but I am not so good at them). If you want, we can play basketball or volleyball together (but please note, I am a bit rusty), we can also do rollerblading, skiing or biking together!
Learn: I am looking forward to learning anything you can teach me! It would be fun!
Share: I can lend you a bicycle, rollerblades, maybe also skis and a snowboard...
Sharing things would definitely not be a problem.
Otherwise I can share with you my (not so good) cooking skills, travelling experience, advice about travelling in Slovenia, music,..
I am an opened person, so don't be afraid of asking me if anything bothers you.

What I Can Share with Hosts

That is a hard question... I would be more than happy to help you with cooking. Otherwise I can share some travelling experience and my music taste, if you are interested in it...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Portugal, Slovenia, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Irena’s full profile.