Gabriella Tanvé's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriella’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 7 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Swedish; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2015
  • Student
  • Social Sciences
  • From Jugon-les-Lacs, Brittany, France
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello, I am a happy and dynamic half-French half-Swedish traveler. I was born in Stockholm, Sweden but grew up on a farm in a little town in Brittany, France.

I'm curious and outgoing, enjoy learning, meeting people, discovering new places, cultures, ideas and I am always seeking to broaden my horizons, may they be social, intellectual or cultural.

I am a Political Science student, I just came back from a year long exchange program in the United States at Vassar College, NY to study art and philosophy. and I am about to start a master's degree program in Urbanism at Sciences Po in Paris. Over summers I work as a touristic guide and advisor in my hometown.

Although I really like politics I think that I'd like to become an explorer later, like an Alice in Wonderland mixed with Peter Pan, I might be a little afraid of adulthood.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Something that I have learned from my previous travelling experiences is that a voyage cannot be fully enjoyed if it is not ponctuated with encounters and authentic human experiences. When I welcome friends in my region, I consider that they have as much to gain from visiting historical landmarks than from sharing a meal with my grandparents. Hence, I always invite my guests and visitors to stuff their bellies with crêpes and galettes with my crazy family for three hours -but they usually love it (or politely pretend they do). I'm on couchsurfing because life is made out of interactions with people rather than solitary discoveries.

This year I am visiting the United States, this is my very first time overseas and I really wish to be enriched with meetings, knowledge and friendships at the end of the year. Also, being a student, I have to admit I am financially restricted and CS therefore enables me to fulfill my travelling dreams while meeting people and gaining authentic experiences.

Interests

I would say laughing is my main interest, a day is wasted if it is not crossed by laughter.

I love to walk around unknown city streets, without schedule, objective or itenary. Like a flaneuse

Then I enjoy dancing, partying and having long conversations. I am interested in politics, news, feelings and life stories.

I also love nature and sports, I've practiced horse back riding since I was a child and also run and hike a lot. Climbing rock scramblings like a goat is one of my favorite thing.

Food is eventually something important,I love eating and cooking (but especially eating) and I proudly claim there is not one single dish I don't like (though I have not tried fried butter yet).

  • arts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • running
  • partying
  • politics
  • news
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • hiking
  • sports
  • rock climbing
  • political science
  • science
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

I listen to a lot of different musical genres, I adore Nina Simone and smooth jazz music. Depending on the contexts I also listen to a lot of electronic/indie music and Afrobeat. Nicolas Jaar, Beach House, Marcus Miller, Boubacar Traoré and old 90s hits, Louisahhh's techno music.

I love movies with nice pictures and smooth stories: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The Grandbudapest Hostel, Lost in Translation, Timbuktu, In the Mood for Love, Jim Jarmush movies.

Albert Camus, Jean Genet

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Driving tractors (my parents are farmers and I don't have a car.. so.. yes, tractor)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laughter and joy, French receipes, ideas, political opinions, my travelling experiences across the United States (and my cultural shocks)

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Italy, Sweden, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Gabriella’s full profile. It’s free!