Sarah van Eyndhoven's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Bachelor of Arts (Hons)
  • From Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Hi! I'm a New Zealander currently traveling around Europe for the next year. I'm fresh out of university, having just completed my four year Bachelor in Linguistics. I've been enjoying a combination of backpacking and volunteering my way around the different countries of Europe, and now I'm trying out couchsurfing as well. My hobbies include cooking and baking (anything with food really), hiking, yoga, reading, writing and sleeping. I love learning (and studying!) other languages and hearing stories from around the globe.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Getting to meet and know locals is actually one of the hardest things to achieve when you're backpacking; you tend to meet people from all around the world but not those who live in the very area you're visiting. Couchsurfing provides a unique way around that and I think it's a really cool idea that it's able to connect people from all over the place, and allows me to do more than just scratch the surface when I visit somewhere.

Also, lets be honest: I'm traveling for a year so I'm on a budget. Couchsurfing enables me to travel on a shoestring, whilst also granting me a unique experience that I wouldn't otherwise have, for a fraction of the price.

Interests

Traveling (obviously :) ) and experiencing different cultures and traditions. Europe is a great place for that as it has so many different cultures in one area!

Reading and writing- I really hope to write my own book one day and I thought I might have time for it whilst traveling (how wrong I was). But I'm getting a lot of inspiration here.

I love cooking with a passion and making people happy with food.
I'm also a big music fan and I still play piano though unfortunately less than I would like.

I really enjoy hiking in the beautiful outdoors, as well as ice-skating.

I've recently become quite interested in photography (but I'm definitely not an expert!)

  • writing
  • books
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • baking
  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • piano
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • languages
  • tourism
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Where would I be without music? I love listening to music, generally older stuff from the 60s and 70s but also some smaller, alternative artista from today- I think you would call them acoustic?

Movies- well I tend to like meaningful movies more than cheap laughs that you forget again in five minutes, but that doesn't mean that I don't like some brain dead humour when I'm really tired on a Friday night and just want to switch off. I'm really into foreign language films at the moment.

Books? If I could read for a living I would, I love books of all categories and genres :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Unfortunately nothing yet so far... which is one of the reasons I'm traveling!

Teach, Learn, Share

Some basic cooking skills? If you need them?

A few choice New Zealand expressions and a 101 guide to my country :)

Travel stories! And please tell me yours.

And I'd love to learn about your country, your town and you! Its one of the reasons I joined couch surfing, to hear from a local and see things through their perspective. Less of a packaged holiday deal, and more of a real experience with real people.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am more than willing to cook and bake for you/with you as it's actually one of my favourite things to do :)

I hopefully can share a few good stories from my travels so far, and I'd love to hear some of yours.

Feel free to laugh at my accent if you find it funny.

And in general a sunny disposition and an interest to learn about your area or town.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, New Caledonia, Portugal, Singapore, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile.