Steve  Hall's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login 4 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Arabic, French, Italian, Persian (Farsi)
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Freelance editor/writer
  • PhD philosophy (ongoing)
  • From London, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a freelance writer and editor. I usually live in Abingdon in the UK but sometimes travel for a few months over winter.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Hoping to meet interesting and stimulating people on my travels. I went to a few meet ups in Oxford and found people agreeable on the whole. I then formed the opinion that encountering similarly agreeable people on my travels would generally enhance it.

Interests

  • puzzles
  • philosophy
  • adventures
  • motorbikes
  • cryptic crosswords
  • canal boats

Music, Movies, and Books

Old school indie, Leonard Cohen, rocksteady, Bach, folk, reggae
The Third Man, Sherman’s March, Motorcycle Diaries, Janapar
Jupiter’s Travels, Tractatus Logico Philosophicus, The Magic Mountain, Jude the Obscure, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy, The Time Traveller’s Wife, Begriffsschrift

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I rode through Tirana city centre during rush hour – the amazing thing is that I came out the other side
Hmm, I was on a TV quiz show once.

Teach, Learn, Share

Keen to pick up some local knowledge and solid general traveller tips. A Dutch woman in Greece told me about maps.me and this has become invaluable.
Love to share travel stories and hear about places I’ve never been. Will share wine if I have any. Will share my last Rolo if you’re nice.
I'm pretty good at cryptic crosswords and the board game Othello. Happy to teach those to anyone who'll humour me. Can teach you some finger picking and folk guitar. Oh, and I've also taught undergraduate-level philosophy and English as a foreign language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Not primarily looking for hosts on CS, but if you did offer to host I could cook gluten free vegan food. Or tell you three interesting facts you didn't already know.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Montenegro, Morocco, Norway, Poland, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Spain, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Yemen

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Greece, Indonesia, Italy, Lebanon, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve ’s full profile.