Fabian Schärli's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Fabian’s full profile.

Overview

  • 8 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish, Swiss German; learning French, Italian
  • 26, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Lucerne, Lucerne, Switzerland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hola, Amigas y Amigos

To be honest, it's a bit difficult to describe myself. Anyway, I did try my best, therefore you can know at least the most important things about me.

My name is Fabian, but you can call me Fabi or Fäbu as my family and friends use to call me. You might already noticed my strange last name "Schärli". It's a Swiss last name, typical from Lucern.
I'm mentioning it just because most of the people during traveling pronounce it like "Charlie".
Once was it pretty funny because a customs officer at the border had constantly shouted "Charlie" to gave me my passport back and I just haven't understood it.
There were hundreds of those funny misunderstandings. Those things must have happen because of my uncommon name, especially in Spanish speaking areas.

In my free time I really enjoy doing sports like swimming, hiking, and jogging. Whenever possible I go right out into green countryside to hike or do mountain running and have some strong outdoor experiences and moments, far away from cities. From all those different sport activities I mostly prefer to do mountain running. Most of the time I run up the mountains of the Zentralschweiz (the central part of Switzerland). Those mountains aren't that high, just always between 1700 and 2800 meters over see level. That's what I usually love to do.

And in addition to those sporty outdoor activities I engage me also as a scout leader every Saturday afternoon and twice a year in camps. During scout program I use to do some outdoor activities again. But this time with children in the age of 6 to 11 years.
This age group is called "Wolfsstufe" (Cub Scouts).

I get as much from Scouting program as children. I remember when I was a Cub Scout my learned skills and experiences just have been always useful in school, and personal life in general.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've just always enjoyed meeting people from other places around the world, discovering cultures, traditions, food, and sharing experiences.

Interests

Actually, I'm a active person.
As a truly natural-boy you will most likely meet me in the green countywide, far away from the cities. Probably on the mountain called Pilatus or just somewhere else where I could hike or spend some great hours out there.

I like languages as well. I just like how they can connect us.

  • culture
  • languages
  • adventure
  • landscape
  • scouting

Music, Movies, and Books

One of my favorite books:
El Principito, The Little Prince, Der kleine Prinz
It's full of pretty lines and deep thoughts about the meaning of life and hundreds of words of wisdom, highly recommendable.

Music:
Nat King Cole, Nicola Cruz, Parov Stelar, Louis Prima, Tina Turner, Amy Macdonald, Baby Genius, etc. (Honestly, I just enjoy hearing all kind of music - It's a huge word. There is so much culture, traditions, and music to be discovered.)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

camping in the jungle, family stay on Amantaní, Perú, etc.

Teach, Learn, Share

I really would like to learn much more "dichos en español" from all countries of Latin America, like pegarse un yodazo, chévere o ¿Como está el arroz?

What I Can Share with Hosts

Sharing travel experience, useful knots, campfire songs, Swiss German, or scouting skills in general

Whatever comes up in my mind, or in your mind.

Countries I’ve Lived In

Costa Rica, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see Fabian’s full profile.