Roberto  Napoli's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Roberto ’s full profile.

Overview

  • 3 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian, Spanish; learning Indonesian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2019
  • Software Developer
  • Master Degree Computer Science
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Exploration, discovery and open-mindedness are what I'm seeking to get out of everyday of my life.
I believe these characteristics are essential for us humans to grow and develop our self-consciousness, sensitivity and ultimately empathy towards other fellow humans.

My passions, goals, whims, interests, hobbies, ....

As any other human being, I enjoy things such as music, movies, books/comics (more on these below), meeting people, hanging out with friends, keeping fit.

I also have been playing the guitar for many years now on and off. Recently I have been focusing on acoustic guitar as I felt it would be beneficial for me to re-discover the fundamentals of technique and dynamics. Soon I am going to go back to the electric as I have a huge list of songs I want to master.
But I would like also to learn to play other instruments, in particular plucked cordophones (bass, mandolin, sitar, ...), keyboards and flutes. Also I plan to properly learn music theory and harmony, to properly grok the mechanisms behind the music that make it work so.

I have been blessed to have a job which stimulates me to discover new things. There is literally no limit to how much I could learn on this discipline alone, so I definitely won't run out of things to explore even in the decades to come. I am deeply fascinated by computer science, in particular programming languages, and I think the knowledge of several approaches to solve problems is what makes you grow in the day-to-day job too.

I want to experiment also with my aesthetics, I have been growing my hair for a few years and I'm planning on growing down to my back. There is not a particular reason why I'm going to do that, more like I feel that by letting my hair grow also my look evolves with it and try different styles that I have never tried. This is also my first time growing my first btw after always keeping them very short, so it is particularly cool for me.
One reason why I don't think I would get tattoos on my skin is that they are permanent and sign you for the life. But I am constantly changing ideas and evolving, so I don't know what tomorrow will bring and I don't want to leave anything permanent on myself. I would like to put some piercings one day maybe though.
I also enjoy fashion and dressing up, from casual laid-back style to very formal. I like accessories such as bracelets, rings and necklaces, and am willing to explore further different kind of styles.

I can't dance, but I wish I could do break dance. I had tried a few times and it is really fun, but requires a lot of training and I didn't dedicate to it. I have tried also Salsa dancing, but got discouraged when I couldn't follow along the lessons anymore and decided to quit.

I also enjoy watching videos on Youtube (you can get a great deal of useful information if you follow the right channels) and reading articles of any kind. I really space in topic here.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The reason why I have joined Coushsurfing is that with it I see the opportunity to meet exceptionally open and unique people coming from the most diverse backgrounds. This is a platform which enables meeting, sharing, helping one another, breaking out of the circles of acquaintances and routines, expanding the horizons and learning more humanity piece by piece.

I am planning to make trips mostly solo. It would be my pleasure to meet up with people, locals or not, on my journeys. I also enjoy leaving room for improvisation based on my mood to meticulously planned trips, as I want to follow my feelings of the moment to the calculation of the mind. I believe that exploring new places should be about feeling, the people, the city, the nature, the culture rather than a checklist of must-see/famous locations to add in one's private collection or public dashboard (Instagram yeah) to brag about. Nothing bad in this btw, just not my style.

Interests

  • fitness
  • reading
  • music
  • guitar
  • computer science
  • travelling
  • meeting people
  • discovering
  • listening
  • tasting
  • watching

Music, Movies, and Books

Music is one of my biggest passions. I have a rock soul, because rock music is the kind I go to by default, as I feel home. But I have spaced over many other genres throughout the years, including classical, soundtracks, jazz, bossa nova, old-school hip-hop, funk, blues, electronic (techno, minimal, edm), flamenco, ethnic music, pop. Nowadays I can really listen to anything, what I listen to is determined by the current mood, period or place. I am also an old soul since I usually prefer to listen to older stuff to the contemporary. I am excited to discover even more music and my list is full of name of artists I would like to check out.
The gist is that my appreciation of a piece of music transcends the genre as long as I can feel an artistic touch in it.

I appreciate many genres of movies, including fantasy, sci-fi, action, thriller, crime, horror, historic, ...
I like many popular movies so it is probably pointless to list all of them :)
But as with music I usually tend to go more for movies where I can find something original/interesting and I generally try to avoid too commercial stuff.
I also enjoy watching weird Japanese movies and Korean action/thriller movies.

Lately I have not been reading novels that much. I think I should pick up the habit again. Though I enormously enjoy reading Asian comics. I have read many throughout the years, but the ones I have on my list to get up to date are Tower of God, One Piece, Ouroboros, The Gamer, Tokyo Ghoul, Melvina's Therapy.

Teach, Learn, Share

guitar
Italian, Spanish languages
Some Italian cuisine, nasi goreng

What I Can Share with Hosts

Discussions about any kind of topic
Discovering more (places, knowledge, experiences)
Teaching, jamming or playing the guitar

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Italy, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Roberto ’s full profile.