Albert-Jan van Zuilichem's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Albert-Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, Italian; learning German
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • PhD Student
  • Master's Degree
  • From Amsterdam, North Holland, Netherlands
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a Dutch PhD Student living in Germany since January 2022 and staying for the coming 3 to 4 years. As a kid I travelled a lot with my parents and lived in Italy (Tuscany) for a year. That's where I learned to speak Italian because I was only 8 years old and kids are like information sponges!
During my Bachelor I returned to Italy when I did my Erasmus in Firenze. Going abroad, visiting new places and meeting new people is one of my favourite things to do. During my Master's I did a European Master programme where I spent my first year in Lisbon, Portugal. The second year unfortunately had to be from home in the Netherlands but now I still ended up in Germany for my PhD!

I like to read and make music at home, I have my own MIDI keyboard in Germany and a piano at my parents' in the Netherlands. I love volleyball and beachvolleyball, have been playing volleyball since I was 11 and played in the Dutch team under 19 for a while, so if you want I can teach you some basics. Being outside the house is one of my favourite things to do to unwind after a day of work, chilling in a park or walking around the city to find new places. I am easy to be around with and lived in student dormitories for a long time so I understand the 'ways' of sharing a household.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

During my travels I learned that people who know the area have a much better idea of the cool and 'secret' places in a city or the surrounding areas. The internet has some information but most is just standard tourist stuff. I would like to get to know what to see from people who know the cities a bit better. Also, I love meeting new people and exchanging stories, learning new languages/foods/drinks and making new friends around the world!

Interests

  • reading
  • music
  • volleyball
  • beach
  • motorbikes
  • outside

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite music currently: Camelphat, Metronomy, MF DOOM, Park Hye Jin.
My favourite movies: Quentin Tarantino, Christopher Nolan, Marvel.
My favourite books: The Name of the Wind, The Wise Man's Fear, Sapiens, Gödel Escher Bach.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Swam through a gulf full of non-stinging jellyfish. Extremely weird experience because the reflex of a jellyfish touching you was really overwhelming, pure rational brain vs. instinct brain.
Helicopter whale watching flight (not as pilot haha).
Three day hike in Spain up to a peak of 2500 m, with my friends' trusty mascotte "Conejo".
Did a roadtrip on my own through Germany and Czech Republic. Stayed at two Couchsurfers for the first time which was an amazing experience!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach some basics of making your own fruit liquors as well as random fun facts about a lot of different topics. Also we can make our own sushi if you would like to learn! I would like to learn more about the local places I will visit and their food specialities and language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some Dutch traditional sweets, good stories and laughter. Plus I can cook or help in the household ofcourse.

Because I am quite busy working on my PhD next to full time job as scientific researcher I can host if the time is right. So send me a request and we can maybe figure something out. I have a nice foldable two persons couch, a fully functional kitchen and amazing coffee machine.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, New Zealand, Portugal, Sint Maarten (Dutch part), Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal

Join Couchsurfing to see Albert-Jan’s full profile.

My Groups