Rosario Di Vaia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 3 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosario’s full profile.

Overview

  • 19 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning Finnish
  • 19, Male
  • Member since 2022
  • University of Helsinki - Physics
  • United World College of the Adriatic (NGO)
  • From Udine, Udine, Italy
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I love making new experiences, trying and learning all sorts of things, whether it's sports, academics, food/cooking, movies...
I just graduated from an international boarding school (UWC) where I've met people from all over the world. This has greatly broadened my perspective and ignited my passion for travelling. I am now studying Physics in the University of Helsinki and at the same time taking a gap year that will consist of a two-months long interrail with my girlfriend Ronja and then a program I got a scholarship for (Semester at Sea).
I am a nerd and I really enjoy talking about any sort of thing: Sciences, Politics, Philosophy, Economics, Psychology and especially trying to convince you that studying Ancient Latin and Greek for three years was NOT a waste of time...
My girlfriend and I have taken some night trains and even slept in train stations, so a floor and a roof are more than enough for us.
3× covid vaccines

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I really love travelling, learning about cultures and meeting new people. I am, however, on a very tight budget and most of my travelling has been thanks to scholarships, big discounts and visiting friends.
My girlfriend (https://www.couchsurfing.com/users/2016304833?utm_source=couchsurfing-android&utm_medium=android-app&utm_campaign=profile-share) and I also really like having guests over and hanging out with internationally-minded people.
We will be interrailing together for two months from October 31st to December 30th.

Interests

  • cooking
  • politics
  • board games
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • mathematics
  • physics
  • psychology
  • climbing

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies, Books: My favorite genres have always been fantasy (Lord of the Rings, Merlin...), sci-fi (Doctor Who, Ender's Game...). As a child, I was in love with Greek mythology and my favorite character was Ulixes/Odysseus. I also read some manga (AoT, One Piece) and watched some anime (Death Note...)

Music: Classical, Jazz, Rock, Pop, Techno. I hate rap. Sorry

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going to UWC Adriatic. I can talk for hours about how amazing an experience it was, how much it broadened my perspective on the world and how many opportunities it has opened up for me.
For example, over two years, I have first lived in a room with a North Macedonian an Albanian and an American (US), then with a Gambian and lastly with an Indonesian.
I got very close with all of them and many more friends from all around the world

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach: Climbing, making pizza (including the dough of course!) and other Italian food. Lots of board games and card games.

Learn: anything. About your food, your history and culture, any random fact, any game...

Share: Our experiences/adventures of any kind, our view on matters like education etc. (if you like that sort of conversation)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Italian food (and my girlfriend can make Finnish food), interesting conversations about any topic, cool experiences and stories (I have a lot to talk about!), help with housework as much as I can of course. And trying to convince you that Finland is amazing and you should definitely come to visit us ;)
I am more than happy to help with cooking, cleaning, grocery shopping, doing the dishes etc., so please let me know if there is anything I can do.
If you are busy, I'm fine with not hanging out.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Poland, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see Rosario’s full profile.

My Groups