iker eizagirre zufiaurre's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 76% response rate
  • Last login about 22 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see iker’s full profile.


  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Basque, English, Spanish
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2023
  • I studied anthropology but I work as local development te...
  • Social and Cultural Anthropology in the Public University...
  • From Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I did my CS account few months ago because I wanted to know people and histories from other countries and cultures. I hosted some really nice people and it was great. And now, it's my turn. I'm enjoying a wonderful trip! That's nice!

I let Irun on August and my idea is to cross Europe till Greece. I'm traveling with one (quite basic) van... that's why I enjoy so much when anybody hosts me! Thanks by the way!.

I'm learning a lot, places, people, histories... so if you host me you could hear some of them 😊. I think that I'm easy-going person, friendly, respectful and open-minded. I really like to hear others and learn about their experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have been working in a "local development estrategies" cooperative for 10 years. We made the cooperative among friends and incredibly the idea worked very well. We are involved in interesting proiects to develop the local participation and socio-ecologic politics. We usually work with local administration and with grass root movements too. This is so nice.

However 2 years ago I decided that I should have a break. I always had had a desire to visit and known Europe. I strongly think that Europe is much more variety and wonderful than we usually tend to think. So I started re-learning English one year ago, and reading books and watching documentaries about different places and history from Europe. Happenings and local histories that were unknown for me appeared soon. Such great countries, peoples and histories!

So I´m in Couchsurfing because I would like to know the people who live in those lovely lands. Moreover I wonder if I would be able to know this countries in contact with its inhabitants. Sure the persons are as wonderful as the their villages, town and cities.

Furthermore I can guest people in my house. We live two persons in a quite big flat, so there will not any problem. Like majority I'm quite busy during the week but I'm sure we will manage well. If the guest wants, there will not be any problem to visit the city wit us. I can ensure you that it will be great.

I wish that soon I will be on the road. Probably on September. Probably with my old van searching for unknown European people and little histories.

I definitely think that I have taken a good decision.

If you want, maybe we will meet!


  • hiking
  • conversation
  • social history
  • music in general
  • reading essays
  • walk around the cities
  • squares and streets

Music, Movies, and Books

My favourite music band is Negu Gorriak but I like Dire Straits too
Shutter Island is an amazing film by Scorsese. Gangs of New York, In the Name of the father, There will be Blood and Persepolis are great as well.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

When I was 25 I did a two month trip, from Buenos Aires to La Paz in Bolivia. I remember as a incredible trip were I met wonderful and very interesting and human people (worse ones too), I visited lovely places (like La Quiaca, El Alto de La Paz, Potosi and the mines there, Cochabamba and the coca gardens..). Two months moving alone around in a unknown territory. I grew up as a person.

I'm learning English ;)

Teach, Learn, Share

I like history in general and my home-lands past 7in particular. If you are interested on Basque culture, euskara,... we could talk about it.

I studied anthropology because I think that is very important to develop the acttitude and behaivour to hear and understand others. So I'll hear you very interested 😊.

I used to play the guitar (in 3 bands) and drumms, but not anymore. However if you are starting with, maybe I could teach something.

I love hiking, offer and have massagges, good food... these are other things we could share.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I think that I will be able to offer what the guests usually want. He/she will have his/her own room in a quite calm house were. We live nearby the center of the city, and next to to AiakoHarriak natural park. My partner knows so many routes around the forest.

If the guest wants to visit the city with us it will be a pleasure for me. When I studied anthropology y made my Degree Final Tesis about Irun, its people, rituals and identity. So I like my city, I have research something about and I will be pleased to explain during a walk. If he/she likes the mountain and nature calm no problem. I will explain the different hiking routes. And of course if we can we will go with him/her. If the idea is to visit the area I will explain how to move (there are many trains and buses to move), and if I able we could move together.

If the guest want a more lonely plan, there is not any problem. She/hi will have a room, kitchen, bathroom,... and if there is not any problem the key too. So she/he will be able to move by her/his own.

Summarizing, a friendly and good located place to visit the north part of Euskal Herria (Basque Country)

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Bolivia, Brazil, Cuba, France, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Northern Ireland, Paraguay, Spain, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Italy

Join Couchsurfing to see iker’s full profile.

My Groups