Michelle Jiménez's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile.


  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, Persian (Farsi), Turkish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2023
  • Spanish and English Teacher
  • BA, Spanish, U of MN; M.Ed. Universidad de Salamanca
  • From Saint Paul, MN, USA
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

I am an ever curious life-long learner, traveler, adventurer, and teacher. I have been fortunate to have traveled to 23 countries and have been fortunate to have made life-long friends from many more countries. I have studied 7 languages and can speak three fluently and have maintained 3 at an intermediate level that has allowed me to enjoy more fully my travels.
I have 4 children, 3 of which are grown and enjoy living on their own, with my last, my 11 year-old daughter, still at home with me.
I am certified as and English and Spanish teacher in Texas, as well as a certified teacher of English as a Second Language and am a TESOL licensed English teacher. I have years of experience teacher Spanish and English as a foreign language and am currently a middle school Spanish teacher for Heritage Speakers of Spanish.
As a teacher I enjoy extended vacation time with which I take advantage of to travel as much as I can and use my travels to extend my global network of friends and further my learning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have come to enjoy travelling by myself as it allows me to meet and socialize with locals and thereby truly feeling as if I came to know the places that I have visited. My upcoming trip will be to Turkey and as I am also learning Turkish I would like to attempt staying with locals so that I can be more immersed in the language and culture and make the most of my time to advance my language skills, as well as share my own culture, languages, and experiences with others in a cultural exchange.


  • literature
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • live music
  • teaching
  • language exchange
  • nature
  • traditional food
  • biking
  • learning new things
  • traditions
  • family and friends
  • languages and cultures
  • historical places
  • teaching spanish
  • teaching english
  • traditional music
  • hiking in the mountains
  • history and culture
  • cooking together

Music, Movies, and Books

I am a fan of all music, Tropical Latin, alternative, pop, oldies (in Spanish and English), persian and turkish music, and pretty much anything that has a great beat that I can dance to. Dancing is therapy for me!
I love history so therefore I love reading classics and watching historical dramas that allow me to delve into history. I also enjoy international films and series, especially Spanish, Turkish, and Korean presently. I also enjoy documentaries, action/adventure, and spy/mystery movies and series that engage me intellectually.
Some series that I have enjoyed are GoT, Witcher, Last Kingdom, Barbarians, Versaille, Vincenzo
My children and I are HUGE Tolkein fans, which is a main reason why my eldest daughter is currently living abroad in Aukland, NZ. And I also join them in enjoying Marvel adventures.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I have completed the Camino de Santiago - The primitivo and the ingles, as well as hiking to Fisterre and Muxia, and have hiked various stages over other routes while living in Spain.
I backpacked the Inca Trail with my daughter for her 18th birthday.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to share knowledge almost as much as I enjoy gaining it. I would love to share and teach others of the very diverse and varied culture, beliefs, backgrounds, politics, and experiences of Americans. I am also interested in teaching others English and Spanish, as that is my professional background as well as personal interest.

I want to learn about the places I visit as well as the history and culture of the people that live there. I hope to gain unique insites and experience life as if I was a resident of the places I plan on visiting.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My language skills, (English and Spanish teacher), I am a certified RY200 yoga instructor, and a great cook!! Above all else I am an open, genuine person with an intense passion for life...so all around great company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Honduras, Iran, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican City State, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Michelle’s full profile.