Logo orange

Nat Hookway

Brooklyn, NY, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

75% response rate · Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Nat Hookway's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 21 Positive References1 Neutral
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish, Tagalog
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • adventurer, occupational therapist, ...
  • my university gave me Bachelor of Oc...
  • From Launceston, Tasmania, Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Live each day as if it's my last... paddle and ski the white stuff... meet awesome people

ABOUT ME

I'm Australian (Tasmanian to be exact!) expat living in Brooklyn, New York. I live in a lovely neighbourhood called Park slope. I love exploring brooklyn especially on bike and discovering new cafes, odd places and hidden gems.

I love biking, and still bike to work in winter... people think i'm crazy.. i just think they are missing out :)

I'm easy going, open minded, and enjoy meeting people from different backgrounds, countries, walks of life.

I spend most of my money on travel.. i try to get away most weekends.. white water kayaking in the warmer months, hiking and skiing in the winter....

If i'm in the city you can find me relaxing, being an alternative tour guide to nyc, on my bike, in my garden, practicing my circus skillz, and thinking up new adventures...

I'm vegan and therefore vegetarians and vegans are particularly welcome.. especially if you have a new recipe to share!

Yoga and it's philosophy have become a big part of my life.

I'm a member of a community garden and in the warmer months spend time there nurturing my vegetables. I'm passionate about food politics and local food systems.

PHILOSOPHY

Learn the rules so you know how to break them properly :)

Everything in Moderation.. including Moderation!!!

I practice yoga almost every day including meditation.. i try to approach every meeting with people with an open mind and heart.

I try to keep an open mind to new experiences and people, I like to try new things often, and try to live in the now and enjoy each day and what it brings.
But this can be hard sometimes.. so occasionaly i do have shitty days and hate the world just like everybody else!... no one is perfect right?!

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first used the couchsurinfg website in Argentina 2006/2007 and spent 4 months travelling the country this way (staying in hostels too. Since then I am hooked and have even surfed all over the USA and Canada, Sweden, Italy, Iceland and even with my mum once in Sweden.
I have got to know these countries and its people in a way I would never had experienced if I had only stayed in hostels.
It has been the most amazing experience and opened up my eyes to a totally different way of travel. I am always humbled by the most amazing hospitable people I meet through this awesome community.

I am often feel sad to leave a host as in such a short time I have quite often become part of the family/household.
I have made I hope some lifetime friends from couchsurfing and I look forward to repaying the favour to other surfers in NYC!

I have couchsurfed before discovering this website/community in the UK, USA, the Philippines, Germany, and Greece and of course Australia. Now the world has been opened up even further!

Interests

Travel (funny that!) and meeting the people that make each destination unique. languages

The outdoors...white water kayaking (and sea kayaking), canoeing, mountain biking, rock climbing, hiking, camping, skiing, surfing, surf sports, swimming,..

Circus: juggling, diablo, devil sticks (pretty bad at this), acroyoga/acrobatics, circus yoga, clowning.....i'm learning aerials but mostly for strength..

Just started to learn to sail! So much fun :)

Yoga, meditation, buddhism, world religion and spirituality, gender issues, health promotion and occupation (from and OT perspective).

I love photography, and when i have time enjoying checking out art galleries and museums.

Dancing to a funky tune anytime anyplace, cooking, eating! Reading, listening to and playing music....

I love cooking and sharing my love of food. Gardening, permiculture, freeganism...
I like introducing non-vegans to the world of vegan food and teach people that vegan food doesn't mean crappy food and lettuce leafs. I get a lot of "wow this doesn't taste vegan!!"

there aren't many things i'm not interested in!

Music, Movies & Books

My ecclectic taste in music ranges from Manu Chao, Feli Kuti, Miles Davis, Chopin, Bob Dylan, The Jackson Five, G love, Tracey Chapman, Tom Petty, Incubus, U2, Holly Throsby, Interpol, MGMT, Cat power, Earth Wind Fire, Bob Marley, John Legend, The Chemical Brothers, Kylie, Hilltop Hoods...and the list continues.

Movies: The ones i could watch over and over would include: Casablanca, Dirty Dancing, James Bond (Sean Connery, Roger Moore), Old School, School of Rock, Happy Gilmore, Bonny and Clyde, The Graduate, The Godfather, Grease, and yes Pretty Woman

Books: I'm a sucker for the library. I read everything from crime, romance, politics, health, biographies, drama, and of course travel adventures

One Amazing Thing I've Done

I met a 75 year old French woman around Christmas time 2006 in Northern Argentina. She was on her first backpacking trip at 75.. and she was donning the backpack, hiking shoes etc with the rest of us! I wanna be that lady when I'm 75! What a woman!

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people how to cook vegan/vegetarian and you can help me discover the great neighbourhood/borough/city I live and work in!

Also I do a lot of outdoor activities. There may be a possibility for you to join me.

I can teach you some yoga and/meditation

share gardening ideas and i have an extra bike so i like to share my bike view of the city.

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Chile, China, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Laos, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Philippines, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Nat Hookway's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile