Freilassing, Bavaria, Germany

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see HEIKE & ERNIE’s full profile. It’s free!


  • German teacher (Heike) and Software Developer (Ernie)
  • Psychologist and Bachelor of Business Administration (Hei...
  • From Wülfrath, NRW, Germany/ Schwelm, NRW, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Climbing all the local mountains (Berchtesgadener Land)


I (Heike) am... a gregarious person who loves to meet people and to chat. I'm a Kiwi at heart and I enjoy people getting confused by my accent. The main reason why we came to Bavaria is to enjoy the beautiful mountains (I'm very much into hiking). BTW: I will be 29 forever ;-)

I (Ernie) am a crazy computer geek and like to party all night long. On weekends I usually hike, rock climb, or (in winter) ski. I also used to play in a lot of different indy and rock bands but since we started travelling und moving around so much I've no instrument anymore :(.


If I (Heike) had the strength to do nothing, I'd do it.
I (Ernie) am doing nothing and have a lot of fun doing it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I (Heike) love meeting people from diverse places. I'm hoping to become an active member of the Salzburg Group - Being part of the Vancouver group was fantastic.
I (Ernie) like going to bars with other CSers!


All experiences have been great so far. CSer are usually very trustworthy. The worst that ever happened was a lost key and a flooded toilet. We appreciate an individual CS request - we like to make sure that our guests understand that CS is a community, and not just a couch to sleep on.


I (Heike) am interested in...languages, different cultures, good vegetarian food, TRAVELLING.
I (Ernie) am intersted in electronic music, outdoor stuff and once in a while I brew my own beer.

Music, Movies, and Books

I (Ernie) like all kinds of electronic music, especially trance and drum'n bass. My favorite movies are comic and sci-fi movies. Lately I enjoyed "I am Legend" and "A Scanner Darkly" very much. Bookwise I like all stuff of Albert Camus, Franz Kafka and Hermann Hesse.

(Heike) Books: Bill Bryson is rad :-) And I love John Krakauer.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Diving in Thailand was pretty amazing (saw a whale shark while we were still on the boat), tandem skydiving in Lake Taupo was great and the hot pools somewhere in the Kaweka forest park are awesome.
The World Naked Bike Ride through downtown Vancouver was wicked, and so was diving with the sharks.
Driving from Canada to Panama in a small Chevrolet Aveo was amazing. So adventurous! But most of all, yelling in Spanish at a Honduran Customs officer was an amazing thing I've done. You could argue it was rather stupid, but he finally let us import our car ;-)

Not so amazing: being tied into a steel cable while we were right underneath a thunderstorm... Got scared shitless!

Travelling in a totally crowded train in India was a real experience. 10 hours on this train that was so full that I could hardly breath.
Climbing the Avalanch Peak in New Zealand with perfect weather and the best view I ever had.
To pub-crawl 42 bars in Germany.
The sun rise on top of Jebel Toubkal in Morocco. It went from -5 degrees to +25 within 5 minutes.

Teach, Learn, Share

I (Heike) can teach you German. Or English. And how to make Thai Green Curry or Indian Dhal.
I (Ernie) can fix your computer. Just let me know what is wrong with it.
I can also show you how to rock climb and take you on all kinds of mountain sports activities.
If you need some lessons in mathematics I can help out, too.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hungary, India, Italy, Laos, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Poland, Portugal, San Marino, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany, New Zealand, Viet Nam

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    35 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see HEIKE & ERNIE’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups